Football Ferns squad announced for Olympic Games qualifier tournament

Football Ferns head coach Jitka Klimková has named her squad for February’s OFC Women’s Olympic Qualifier tournament.

The 24-player squad features Wellington Phoenix’s Macey Fraser and Brianna Edwards as the only uncapped players.

Five Ferns return who were not part of the November 2023 tour including forward and ISPS Handa Halberg Awards Favourite Sporting Moment from 2023 nominee Hannah Wilkinson who is back from suspension.

With the competition happening while many domestic leagues are still running, two players have been selected just for the first game before being allowed to return to their clubs.

VIDEO: Watch Ferns coach Jitka Klimkova’s media briefing on Olympic selection >>>>

New Zealand squad

Liz Anton* (19 caps) Perth Glory FC, Australia
Mackenzie Barry (9 caps) Wellington Phoenix FC, New Zealand
Katie Bowen (100 caps) Inter Milan, Italy
Claudia Bunge (24 caps) HB Køge, Denmark
Daisy Cleverley (33 caps) HB Køge, Denmark
Ava Collins (13 caps) St John’s University, USA
Brianna Edwards (0 caps) Wellington Phoenix FC, New Zealand
Victoria Esson (20 caps) Rangers FC, Scotland
Michaela Foster (10 caps) Wellington Phoenix FC, New Zealand
Macey Fraser (0 caps) Wellington Phoenix FC, New Zealand
Ally Green (7 caps) AGF, Denmark
Jacqui Hand (19 caps) Lewes FC, England
Betsy Hassett (152 caps) Stjarnan FC, Iceland
Grace Jale (23 caps) Perth Glory, Australia
Katie Kitching (2 caps) Sunderland AFC, England
Anna Leat (13 caps) Aston Villa FC, England
Annalie Longo (133 caps) Wellington Phoenix FC, New Zealand
Ruby Nathan* (1 caps) Canberra United, Australia
Grace Neville (6 caps) London City Lionesses, England
Gabi Rennie (30 caps) Unattached
Indiah-Paige Riley (16 caps) PSV Vrouwen, Netherlands
Rebekah Stott (96 caps) Melbourne City FC, Australia
Kate Taylor (11 caps) Wellington Phoenix FC, New Zealand
Hannah Wilkinson (119 caps) Melbourne City FC, Australia

*First game only
The following players are injured, or still returning from injury, and are therefore unavailable for selection: CJ Bott, Milly Clegg, Meikayla Moore, Ali Riley, Paige Satchell and Malia Steinmetz.

After discussion with the player, it was mutually agreed upon that Ria Percival would not participate after recently moving clubs.

Head coach Jitka Klimková said:

“Our priority for this competition is qualifying for Paris 2024 and taking the Ford Football Ferns to the Summer Olympics for the fifth time.

“The format of tournament football always presents unique challenges and opportunities. In this case, with games happening every three days in hot and humid conditions, we have to be efficient in our final preparation and diligent with our recovery.

“The FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 highlighted the fact that the level and standard in women’s international football is accelerating and the gap is closing. The OFC teams are no exception to that. We will rely on the full depth of our roster to meet the challenges that the teams in the OFC will present to us.

“The qualifiers are also a good opportunity to have the team together for an extended international window which, especially at the start of this new cycle, is really important to build on our connection on and off the pitch and lay the foundation for our style of play and evolution as a team for 2024 and beyond.”

Tournament details

To be held in Samoa from February 7-19, the eight-team tournament will decide which country will represent Oceania at the 2024 Summer Olympics in Paris.

New Zealand will face Tonga, Samoa and Vanuatu in Group B.

Oceania Football Confederation have confirmed the following fixture details for New Zealand:


Game to be played on Wednesday February 7, 2024

New Zealand v Tonga
Apia Park, Apia, Samoa, 1pm (NZT)

Game to be played on Saturday February 10, 2024

New Zealand v Samoa
Apia Park, Apia, Samoa, 5pm (NZT)

Game to be played on Tuesday February 13, 2024

Vanuatu v New Zealand
FFS Football Stadium, Samoa, 4pm (NZT)

Tournament draw

# indicates current FIFA world ranking

Group A

  • Papua New Guinea #54
  • Fiji #71
  • Solomon Islands #104
  • American Samoa (no current ranking)

Group B

  • New Zealand #26
  • Tonga #92
  • Samoa #97
  • Vanuatu #122

The top two sides from each pool will advance to the semi-final stage with each pool winner meeting the runners-up from the other group.

The winning semi-finalists will meet in a sudden-death final.

More football stories