United States and Mexico clinch spots at FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup

Two more countries have joined New Zealand in qualifying for the 2024 FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup to be held in the Dominican Republic.

Mexico and the United States clinched their places at the tournament by reaching the final of the CONCACAF Women’s U-17 Championship on February 12, 2024 (NZT). The United States won the final 4-1.

Canada missed a place at the World Cup, losing to Mexico in the CONCACAF semi-final 2-1 after extra time.

The eighth edition of the World Cup tournament will be held from October 16 – November 3, 2024, in the Dominican Republic.

The competition will consist of 16 teams, including the host nation, with New Zealand, Mexico, the United States and teams yet to qualify from Asia (3), Africa (3), South America (3) and Europe (3).

Canterbury coach Alana Gunn will be head coach for the New Zealand team.

The team qualified for the tournament by winning the OFC U-16 Women’s Championship in Tahiti in September.

READ MORE: Late winner gets New Zealand through to FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup >>>>

The OFC title-winning side was coached by Leon Birnie, who replaced Natalie Lawrence after her departure to the United Kingdom.

READ MORE: Coach Natalie Lawrence lands new role with English Championship club >>>>

Birnie will coach the national U-20 women’s side at the FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup in Colombia next September.

READ MORE: Focus turns to 2024 U-20 World Cup as New Zealand celebrates qualification >>>>

Previous winners

2008: DPR Korea
2010: Korea Republic
2012: France
2014: Japan
2016: DPR Korea
2018: Spain
2022: Spain

More football stories