New season fixtures released for Northern, Central and Southern Leagues

Fixture schedules have been revealed for New Zealand’s men’s three regional leagues.

The Northern League is the first to start, with games getting underway on Friday March 22.

The Central League and Southern League follow a week later, with games spread over the Easter weekend.

The competitions will decide which 10 clubs will qualify for the Men’s National League which starts in September.

The 10 qualifiers will come from:

  • Northern League — the top four clubs.
  • Central League — the Wellington Phoenix reserves and the three highest-placed clubs.
  • Southern League — the champions and runners-up.

Northern League

Defending champions Auckland City meet Auckland United under the lights at Keith Hay Park, in the Dominion Road Derby in the season opener on Friday March 22.

Promoted sides East Coast Bays and Tauranga City both land home games to get their Northern League campaigns underway, hosting Manurewa and Melville United, respectively.

Central League

The Central League gets underway on Good Friday (March 29) when North Wellington host an evening match against Waterside Karori.

The first weekend wraps up with an Easter Sunday fixture at Napier City Rovers with the visit of champions Wellington Olympic.

Southern League

Newcomers Universities of Canterbury start the Southern League season with a game at Ferrymead Bays on Thursday March 28.

Title-holders Christchurch United also play on the Thursday evening, hosting Nomads United.

The rest of the opening round is scheduled for Good Friday (March 29).

Download the fixtures

Click on the following button to download a PDF of the three regional leagues’ fixtures:

More football stories