More teams qualify to join Futsal Whites at FIFA Futsal World Cup tournament

Four former champion teams have joined New Zealand in qualifying for the 2024 FIFA Futsal World Cup in Uzbekistan.

Five-time winners Brazil, dual champions Spain, Argentina and defending champions Portugal have all booked spots at the tournament due to take place from September 14 – October 6, 2024.

New Zealand will attend the tournament for the first time, while France will also make their World Cup debuts.

Main photo: The Futsal Whites … winners of the 2023 OFC Futsal Nations Cup.

So far, 11 teams have qualified while the remaining 13 will be decided in April.

The 11 teams who have qualified

Nations to confirm their qualification for the FIFA Futsal World Cup:

New Zealand who qualified by winning the 2023 OFC Futsal Nations Cup.

Uzbekistan qualify as the host nation.

Argentina, Brazil, Paraguay and Venezuela, who qualified by filling the top four places at the Copa América de Futsal tournament held in Paraguay in February 2024.

France, Kazakhstan, Portugal, Spain and Ukraine who have qualified through the 2024 FIFA Futsal World Cup qualifiers (with two more nations still to be confirmed).

Where the other 13 teams will come from

Asia (4)

Four more Asian teams will qualify to join Uzbekistan from the region. These will be decided at the 2024 AFC Futsal Asian Cup to be held in Thailand between April 17-28, 2024.

The four will come from Thailand. China, Afghanistan, Saudi Arabia, Iran, Kyrgyzstan, Vietnam, South Korea, Myanmar, Tajikistan, Kuwait, Bahrain, Iraq, Uzbekistan, Japan and Australia.

Africa (3)

Three teams will qualify through the 2024 Futsal Africa Cup of Nations to be held in Morocco from April 6-17, 2024.

Teams seeking qualification come from Angola, Egypt, Morocco, Mauritania, Namibia, Ghana, Zambia and Libya.

Central, North America and Caribbean (4)

Four nations will qualify from the 2024 CONCACAF Futsal Championship to be held in Nicaragua from April 13-20, 2024.

The qualifiers will come from Guatemala, Panama, Costa Rica, Cuba, Mexico, United States, Trinidad and Tobago, Canada, Haiti, Suriname, Nicaragua and Dominican Republic.

Europe (2)

In addition to the five nations already qualified, two more will qualify through a set of play-offs to be played over two legs, on April 8 and April 17, 2024.

The winners of Netherlands v Finland and Poland v Croatia will qualify for the World Cup.

About the 2024 FIFA Futsal World Cup

The 24 qualifying teams will be drawn into six groups of four teams.

The six group winners, six runners-up and the four best third-placed teams will go into a Round of 16 knockout stage.

The winners go forward to quarter-finals, before sudden death semi-finals and the final.

More football stories