Last two qualifiers confirmed for women’s Olympic Games tournament

The final list of participating nations has been confirmed for the 2024 women’s Olympic Games tournament in Paris, with the completion of Africa’s qualifying series.

Nigeria and Zambia have clinched the last remaining spots with play-off wins played in the April international window.

Nigeria beat South Africa 1-0 over two legs, while Zambia overcame Morocco 3-2 on aggregate, requiring extra time in the second leg.

Nigeria go into group C at the Paris Olympics, while Zambia will face teams in group B.

Main photo: New Zealand qualified for Paris by winning the OFC Women’s Olympic qualifying tournament. Photo credit: OFC / Phototek.

New Zealand’s Football Ferns will play in group A against hosts France, holders Canada and Colombia.

New Zealand’s opening match will be against 2022 gold medalists Canada at the Stade Geoffroy-Guichard, Saint-Etienne. on Friday July 26, 2024, with a kick-off time of 3am (NZT).

The tournament will be held from July 24 – August 10, 2024.

The groups

# indicates current FIFA world ranking

Group A

  • France #3
  • Colombia #23
  • Canada #9
  • New Zealand #28

Group B

  • United States #4
  • Zambia #65
  • Germany #5
  • Australia #12

Group C

  • Spain #1
  • Japan #7
  • Nigeria #36
  • Brazil #10


Games to be played on Friday July 26, 2024 (NZT)

Canada v New Zealand
Stade Geoffroy-Guichard, Saint-Etienne, 3am (NZT)

France v Colombia
Stade de Lyon, Décines-Charpieu, 7am (NZT)

Games to be played on Monday July 29, 2024 (NZT)

New Zealand v Colombia
Stade de Lyon, Décines-Charpieu, 3am (NZT)

France v Canada
Stade Geoffroy-Guichard, Saint-Etienne, 7am (NZT)

Games to be played on Thursday August 1, 2024 (NZT)

New Zealand v France
Stade de Lyon, Décines-Charpieu, 7am (NZT)

Colombia v Canada
Stade de Nice, Nice, 7am (NZT)

Past champions

1996: USA
2000: Norway
2004: USA
2008: USA
2012: USA
2016: Germany
2020: Canada

More football stories