Croatia and Netherlands join Futsal Whites at FIFA Futsal World Cup tournament

More than half the qualifiers have been decided in the race to join New Zealand at the 2024 FIFA Futsal World Cup in Uzbekistan.

The latest to qualify are Croatia and Netherlands, who have won the last of seven places for European nations.

In two-legged play-offs, Croatia beat Poland while Netherlands beat Finland in a penalty shootout to qualify.

Four former world champions have already booked their places.

Five-time winners Brazil, dual champions Spain, Argentina and defending champions Portugal have all confirmed their spots at the tournament due to take place from September 14 – October 6, 2024.

Netherlands are past runners-up at the Futsal World Cup

New Zealand will attend the tournament for the first time, while France will also make their World Cup debuts.

Main photo: The Futsal Whites … winners of the 2023 OFC Futsal Nations Cup.

So far, 13 teams have qualified while the remaining 11 will be decided by late April.

The 13 teams who have qualified

Nations to confirm their qualification for the FIFA Futsal World Cup:

  • New Zealand who qualified by winning the 2023 OFC Futsal Nations Cup.
  • Uzbekistan qualify as the host nation.
  • Argentina, Brazil, Paraguay and Venezuela, who qualified by filling the top four places at the Copa América de Futsal tournament held in Paraguay in February 2024.
  • France, Kazakhstan, Portugal, Spain, Ukraine, Croatia and Netherlands who have qualified through the 2024 FIFA Futsal World Cup qualifiers.

Where the other 11 teams will come from

Asia (4)

Four more Asian teams will qualify to join Uzbekistan from the region. These will be decided at the 2024 AFC Futsal Asian Cup held in Thailand between April 17-28, 2024.

The four will come from Thailand. China, Afghanistan, Saudi Arabia, Iran, Kyrgyzstan, Vietnam, South Korea, Myanmar, Tajikistan, Kuwait, Bahrain, Iraq, Uzbekistan, Japan and Australia.

Africa (3)

Three teams will qualify through the 2024 Futsal Africa Cup of Nations held in Morocco from April 11-21, 2024.

Teams seeking qualification come from Angola, Egypt, Morocco, Mauritania, Namibia, Ghana, Zambia and Libya.

Central, North America and Caribbean (4)

Four nations will qualify from the 2024 CONCACAF Futsal Championship held in Nicaragua from April 13-20, 2024.

The qualifiers will come from Guatemala, Panama, Costa Rica, Cuba, Mexico, United States, Trinidad and Tobago, Canada, Haiti, Suriname, Nicaragua and Dominican Republic.

About the 2024 FIFA Futsal World Cup

The 24 qualifying teams will be drawn into six groups of four teams.

The six group winners, six runners-up and the four best third-placed teams will go into a Round of 16 knockout stage.

The winners go forward to quarter-finals, before sudden death semi-finals and the final.

More football stories