Line-up for FIFA Futsal World Cup almost complete as more nations qualify

Seven more nations have qualified to join New Zealand at the 2024 FIFA Futsal World Cup in Uzbekistan.

The latest to qualify are African nations Angola, Libya and Morocco, and CONCACAF region teams Costa Rica, Cuba, Guatemala and Panama

This brings to 20 the number of teams whose places are booked for the Futsal World Cup tournament.

Four former world champions have already booked their places.

Five-time winners Brazil, dual champions Spain, Argentina and defending champions Portugal have all confirmed their spots at the tournament due to take place from September 14 – October 6, 2024.

Netherlands are past runners-up at the Futsal World Cup

New Zealand will attend the tournament for the first time, while France will also make their World Cup debuts.

Main photo: The Futsal Whites … winners of the 2023 OFC Futsal Nations Cup. Photo: Shane Wenzlick / Phototek.

So far, 20 teams have qualified while the remaining four will be decided by late April.

The 20 teams who have qualified

Nations to confirm their qualification for the FIFA Futsal World Cup:

  • New Zealand who qualified by winning the 2023 OFC Futsal Nations Cup.
  • Uzbekistan qualify as the host nation.
  • Argentina, Brazil, Paraguay and Venezuela, who qualified by filling the top four places at the Copa América de Futsal tournament held in Paraguay in February 2024.
  • France, Kazakhstan, Portugal, Spain, Ukraine, Croatia and Netherlands who have qualified through the 2024 FIFA Futsal World Cup qualifiers.
  • Angola, Libya and Morocco who qualified through the 2024 Futsal Africa Cup of Nations.
  • Costa Rica, Cuba, Guatemala and Panama qualified by filling the top places at the 2024 CONCACAF Futsal Championship.

Where the other teams will come from

Asia (4)

Four more Asian teams will qualify to join Uzbekistan from the region. These will be decided at the 2024 AFC Futsal Asian Cup held in Thailand between April 17-28, 2024.

The four will come from Thailand, Myanmar, China, Afghanistan, Iran, Kyrgyzstan, Vietnam, Japan, Tajikistan, Kuwait, Iraq, Uzbekistan, Saudi Arabia and Australia.

About the 2024 FIFA Futsal World Cup

The 24 qualifying teams will be drawn into six groups of four teams.

The six group winners, six runners-up and the four best third-placed teams will go into a Round of 16 knockout stage.

The winners go forward to quarter-finals, before sudden death semi-finals and the final.

More football stories