Ferns defender Katie Bowen voted Player of the Year in NZ Football awards

Football Ferns and Inter Milan defender Katie Bowen has been voted the overall Player of the Year, in addition to winning Women’s Player of the Year.

NZ Football said Bowen won the after “after a strong season and FIFA Women’s World Cup campaign that saw the Ferns only concede one goal in three games.”

Main photo: Katie Bowen … ‘stocked to win’.

The New Zealand Football Awards, recognising the achievements of 2023 across football and futsal, from the community game to high performance, were announced in an online video.

The winners of the playing and coaching awards were voted on by a panel of New Zealand football media representatives and a public vote which attracted more than 2,800 responses.

Speaking on the award, Bowen said: “I am so stoked right now, a little in shock, but I just want to say thank you to my teammates and to all the coaches and players that I’ve played with throughout my career.

“2023 was a massive whirlwind and obviously we had the World Cup in our backyard so playing in front of family and friends was such a fun time and the biggest honour of my life.

“Thank you mostly to my family for everything you do for me and for everything you have sacrificed.

“And ultimately, thank you, Dad.”

Bowen was one of four players shortlisted for the Player of the Year award, with fellow Fern Malia Steinmetz and All Whites Marko Stamenić and Chris Wood.

READ MORE: New Zealand’s player of the year — all the previous winners >>>>

The full list of winners

Men’s International Player of the Year
Chris Wood

Women’s International Player of the Year
Katie Bowen

Women’s Domestic Player of the Year
Deven Jackson

Men’s Domestic Player of the Year
Cam Howieson

Women’s Domestic Coach of the Year
Maia Vink

Men’s Domestic Coach of the Year
Rupert Kemeys

Men’s Referee Award
Campbell-Kirk Kawana-Waugh

Men’s Assistant Referee Award
Isaac Trevis

Women’s Referee Award
Anna-Marie Keighley

Women’s Assistant Referee Award
Sarah Jones

Futsal Referee Award
Chris Sinclair

Men’s Young Player of the Year
Marko Stamenić

Women’s Young Player of the Year
Indiah-Paige Riley

McDonald’s Community Coach of the Year
Tom Zwinnen – Ngatapa Hurricanes

McDonald’s Community Referee of The Year
Josh Hobman

Women’s Futsal Player of the Year
Jordana Bremner

Men’s Futsal Player of the Year
Dylan Manickum

Futsal Coach of the Year
Marvin Eakins

Futsal Team of the Year
Futsal Whites

International Coach of the Year
Darren Bazeley

Team of the Year
Ford Football Ferns

Player of the Year
Katie Bowen

Moment of the Year
Hannah Wilkinson’s goal against Norway at the FIFA Women’s World Cup to win the Ferns first game at the tournament.

Watch the awards

The following video announced the NZ Football Awards on Monday April 29, 2024.

More football stories