Phoenix to play past winners Wellington United in Kate Sheppard Cup debut

posted in: Events, Kate Sheppard Cup, News

Wellington Phoenix will make their first appearance in the Kate Sheppard Cup when they play 2021 winners Wellington United in the first round.

The Phoenix will field their women’s reserves team as they make their debut in the competition after a rule change that allows the club to enter the Kate Sheppard Cup and the Chatham Cup, providing their teams are able to meet the requirement of all players having amateur status.

This opens the way for the Phoenix to field players from their reserve and academy teams.

READ MORE: Wellington Phoenix now able to enter Chatham Cup and Kate Sheppard Cup >>>>

Wellington United … Kate Sheppard Cup winners in 2021 and runners-up in 2023. Photo: Shane Wenzlick / Phototek.

First round draw

Games to be played over weekend of May 10-13, 2024

Northern region

Papakura City v Birkenhead United

Northland v Franklin United

Waikato Unicol v Onehunga Mangere United

Uni-Mount Bohemian v Greenhithe

Lakes v Tauranga Moana

Tauranga Blue Rovers v Cambridge

Central region

Moturoa v Palmerston North Marist

Miramar Rangers v Victoria University

Waterside Karori v Brooklyn Northern United

Te Kotahitanga v Northern Wellington

Wellington United v Wellington Phoenix Reserves

Island Bay United v Upper Hutt City

Southern region

FC Nelson v Nelson Suburbs

Halswell United v Waimakariri United

Selwyn United v Cashmere Technical

Coastal Spirit v UC Football

Northern v Roslyn Wakari

Green Island v Otago University

Dunedin City Royals v Thistle

Queens Park v Grants Braes


The following clubs receive byes in the first round:

Northern region: Onehunga Sports, Northern Rovers, Auckland United, West Coast Rangers, Eastern Suburbs, Western Springs, Fencibles United, Hibiscus Coast, Ellerslie, Hamilton Wanderers.

Central region: Seatoun, Petone.

Southern region: No byes.

Key dates

First round
Weekend of May 10-13, 2024

Second round
Weekend of May 31-June 2, 2024

Third round
Weekend of June 14-16, 2024

Weekend of July 5-7, 2024

Weekend of August 16-18, 2024

Sunday September 8, 2024

Preliminary round results

Games played on Thursday April 25, 2024

Waiuku 1 (Ashley Cowley 85′ pen)
Papakura City 13 (Tayla Yakas 2′, 49′, Hannah Reddy 4′, 35′, 45′, Joyce Barroso 10′, 26′, 33′, 56′, 59′ pen, Danielle Swales 30′, Kristina Ah Ching 71′, Nicole Kraakman 88)

Te Kotahitanga 17 (Madison Beetham 6′, 10′, 26′, 53′, Nina Wronski 22′, Vanessa Addy 36′, 37′, 41′, 44′, 59′, 66′, 72′, Sienna Lenik 41′, Emma Howes 75′, 79′, 83′)
Stop Out 0

Game played on Sunday April 28, 2024

Bay Olympic 1 (Chantay Robinson 12′)
Uni-Mount Bohemian 6 (Rosie Hartwell 7′, 42′, Maggie Jaques 40′, Jessica McKimm 48′, 50′, 65′)

All the past winners — Kate Sheppard Cup

1994 Nomads United (Christchurch)
1995 Waikato Unicol (Hamilton)
1996 Lynn-Avon United (Auckland)
1997 Three Kings United (Auckland)
1998 Three Kings United (Auckland)
1999 Three Kings United (Auckland)
2000 Lynn-Avon United (Auckland)
2001 Ellerslie (Auckland)
2002 Lynn-Avon United (Auckland)
2003 Lynn-Avon United (Auckland)
2004 Lynn-Avon United (Auckland)
2005 Lynn-Avon United (Auckland)
2006 Lynn-Avon United (Auckland)
2007 Western Springs (Auckland)
2008 Lynn-Avon United (Auckland)

2009 Lynn-Avon United (Auckland)
2010 Claudelands Rovers (Hamilton)
2011 Glenfield Rovers (Auckland)
2012 Three Kings United (Auckland)
2013 Coastal Spirit (Christchurch)
2014 Glenfield Rovers (Auckland)
2015 Glenfield Rovers (Auckland)
2016 Forrest Hill Milford United (Auckland)
2017 Glenfield Rovers (Auckland)
2018 Dunedin Technical (Dunedin)
2019 Eastern Suburbs (Auckland)
2021 Wellington United (Wellington)
2022 Auckland United (Auckland)
2023 Western Springs (Auckland)

More football stories