PREVIEW: Chatham Cup holders Christchurch United to get first round underway

posted in: Chatham Cup, News

By Jack Sharp

Holders Christchurch United kick off the first game in this weekend’s first round proper of the 2024 Chatham Cup, when they host Canterbury rivals Western.

It’s a fitting game to launch the round of games with seven-time winners Christchurch United going head-to-head with Western, who are four-time winners of the trophy but last raised it in 1955.

The cup tie will be live streamed by Christchurch United through their YouTube channel:

Three more heavyweights of past Chatham Cups have home advantage.

Six-time winners North Shore United will play neighbours Takapuna in a local derby.

Cashmere Technical, who won the cup in 2021, will play Canterbury Premier League side Burwood.

Dunedin’s Northern club, who were founded in 1888 and claim to be the oldest continuously operating football club in the Southern Hemisphere, will host Waihopai in the first round.

Northern won the cup in 1959 and 1961.

Meanwhile, a few potential giantkillers get their chance against teams from higher leagues.

After beating Naenae 3-2 in the preliminary round, Greytown have been rewarded for their first-ever win in the Chatham Cup with an away tie at Tawa in the first round.

University of Auckland head to the Waikato to take on Lotto NRFL Championship side Ngaruawahia United, a side who’ll remember slipping up to lower-rated opposition before.

In the first round of the 2022 Chatham Cup, Ngaruawahia were knocked out of the cup by Sunday League side Sperm Whales, in the round’s biggest upset.


Games to be played on Friday May 10, 2023

Christchurch United v Western
United Sports Centre, Christchurch, 7pm

Metro v Oratia United
Phyllis St, Mt Albert, 7.30pm

Games to be played on Saturday Month , 2024

Palmerston North Marist v Havelock North Wanderers
Arena Manawatu, Palmerston North, 12pm

Te Awamutu v Waikato Unicol
The Stadium, Te Awamutu, 2pm

Ngaruawahia United v University of Auckland
Centennial Park, Ngaruawhia, 2pm

Beachlands Maraetai v West Auckland
Te Puru Park, Beachlands, 2pm

Hibiscus Coast v Waiuku
Stanmore Bay Park, Whangaparaoa, 2pm

Papatoetoe v Northern United
Murdoch Park, Papatoetoe, 2pm

Claudelands Rovers v Bucklands Beach
Galloway Park, Hamilton, 2pm

Waiheke United v Te Atatu
Onetangi Sports Complex, Waiheke, 2pm

Papakura City v Cambridge
McLennan Park, Papakura, 2pm

Taupo v Franklin United
Crown Park, Taupo, 2pm

Central United v Northland
Kiwitea St, Sandringham, 2pm

Northern Rovers v Mt Albert Ponsonby
McFetridge Park, Glenfield, 2pm

Albany United v South Auckland Rangers
Rosedale Park, Albany, 2pm

Onehunga Mangere United v Matamata Swifts
Mangere Centre Park, Mangere, 2pm

Ngongotaha v Manukau United
Tamarahi Reserve, Ngongotaha, 2pm

North Shore United v Takapuna
Allen Hill Stadium, Devonport, 2pm

Otumoetai v Te Puke United
Fergusson Park, Otumoetai, 2pm

Palmerston North United v Peringa United
Memorial Park, Palmerston North, 2pm

Paekakariki v Victory University
Campbell Park, Paekakariki, 2pm

Brooklyn Northern United v Upper Hutt City
Wakefield Park, Island Bay, 2pm

Stokes Valley v Seatoun
Fraser Park, Lower Hutt, 2pm

Tawa v Greytown
Redwood Park, Tawa, 2pm

Waimakariri United v UC Football
Kendall Park, Kaiapoi, 2pm

Nomads United v Halswell United
Tulett Park, Bishopdale, 2pm

Geraldine v Otago University
Geraldine Domain, Geraldine, 2pm

Green Island v Queens Park
Sunnyvale Park, Dunedin, 2pm

Thistle v Mosgiel
Venue TBC, 2pm

Wanaka v West End
Recreation Centre, Wanaka, 2pm

Northern Hearts v Grants Braes
Aorangi Park, Timaru, 2pm

Roslyn Wakari v Queenstown
Ellis Park, Dunedin, 2pm

Nelson Suburbs v Richmond
Saxton Fields, Nelson, 2.30pm

Tahuna v FC Nelson
Tahunanui, Nelson, 2.30pm

Cashmere Technical v Burwood
Garrick Memorial Park, Christchurch, 2.30pm

Ellerslie v Otorohanga
Michaels Ave, Ellerslie, 3pm

Selwyn United v Ferrymead Bays
Foster Park, Rolleston, 3pm

Northern v Waihopai
Caledonian Ground, Dunedin, 3pm

Waitemata v AFC Bohemian Celtic
McLeod Park, Te Atatu South, 5.30pm

Games to be played on Sunday May 12, 2024

Coastal Spirit v FC Twenty 11
Linfield Park, Bromley, 11am

Papamoa v Fencibles United
Gordon Spratt Reserve, Papamoa, 2pm


The following clubs receive byes in the first round:

Northern region: Auckland City, Western Springs, Birkenhead United, Eastern Suburbs, Bay Olympic, Auckland United, Manurewa, Tauranga City, East Coast Bays, Melville United, Hamilton Wanderers, West Coast Rangers.

Central region: Miramar Rangers, Wellington Olympic, Napier City Rovers, Western Suburbs, Waterside Karori, Wellington Phoenix Reserves, Petone, North Wellington, Island Bay United, Stop Out.

Southern region: Dunedin City Royals.

Key dates

Second round
Weekend of May 31-June 2, 2024

Third round
Weekend of June 14-16, 2024

Fourth round
Weekend of July 5-7, 2024

Weekend of July 26-28, 2024

Weekend of August 16-18, 2024

Sunday September 8, 2024

Jack Sharp

Jack Sharp is a long-time follower of club football in New Zealand and is a volunteer writer for Friends of Football. You can show your appreciation for his work by buying him a coffee.

More football stories