Three Ferns named in women’s A-League All Stars squad to face Arsenal

Football Ferns Michaela Foster and Rebekah Stott have been selected for the 19-strong A-League All Stars women’s squad for this month’s showdown with Arsenal in Melbourne.

They join another New Zealand international, striker Hannah Wilkinson, who was previously announced as a founder member of the squad.

The squad is the first-ever women’s A-League All Stars team.

Main photo: Michaela Foster … her selection caps a consistent Liberty A-League season.

Fullback Foster has been rewarded for another consistent season for the Wellington Phoenix.

Always a threat at set pieces, Foster provided the assists for three of Wellington’s goals during the 2023-24 Liberty A-League and found the back of the net in the 4-0 win over Adelaide United at Porirua Park in March.

Stott has captained Melbourne City to the women’s A-League Premiers Plate, and this year’s grand final.

The inaugural A-League All Stars women are headlined by past and present Matildas Cortnee Vine, Michelle Heyman, Tameka Yallop, Alex Chidiac, Lydia Williams, Princess Ibini, Elise Kellond-Knight and Kyah Simon.

“The quality across the Liberty A-League Women is undeniable,” head coach Joe Montemurro said.

“The league has been a proven pathway for Matildas for many years, and more and more we’re seeing current Matildas and other internationals feature across the league.

“Within this squad we will have 11 internationals and it’s a squad that has a great mix of experience, quality and flair that I think will excite the fans, show the best of the league and most of all give Arsenal a real challenge.”

“I can’t wait to work with this squad and the incredible coaches and see the Australian football fans create an incredible atmosphere at Marvel Stadium for what will be an amazing showcase of world class football.”

The squad will assemble Melbourne on Saturday, May 18 with the A-League All Stars match against Arsenal Women on Friday, May 24 at Mervel Stadium.

It will be the second match of the Global Football Week double-header, with the A-League All Stars men to play Newcastle United beforehand.

A-League All Stars women’s squad

Lydia Williams (Melbourne Victory), Jada Whyman (Sydney FC), Alana Cerne (Western United), Michaela Foster (Wellington Phoenix), Grace Maher (Western United), Danika Matos (Western Sydney Wanderers), Kayla Morrison (Melbourne Victory), Rebekah Stott (Melbourne City), Alex Chidiac (Melbourne Victory), Mackenzie Hawkesby (Sydney FC), Elise Kellond-Knight (Melbourne Victory), Rhianna Pollicina (Melbourne City), Tameka Yallop (Brisbane Roar), Sophie Harding (Western Sydney Wanderers), Michelle Heyman (Canberra United), Princess Ibini (Sydney FC), Kyah Simon (Central Coast Mariners), Cortnee Vine (Sydney FC), Hannah Wilkinson (Melbourne City).

More football stories