Key decisions made as FIFA releases women’s international calendar

World governing body FIFA have made key decisions for a number of international women’s tournaments in which New Zealand hope to have teams play.

At their May 2024 Congress in Bangkok, the FIFA Council decided:

FIFA Women’s Club World Cup

The inaugural FIFA Women’s Club World Cup will be contested by 16 teams in January-February 2026. The tournament will be held every four years.

New FIFA women’s club competition

To facilitate the continued global development of women’s clubs and based on requests from the confederations to provide ample playing opportunities on a yearly basis, it was further proposed that an additional FIFA women’s club competition be organised in non-FIFA Women’s Club World Cup years as from 2027.

2025 FIFA Futsal Women’s World Cup

The first World Cup tournament will be held in the Philippines.

FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup

The U-17 tournament will become an annual event for 24 nations in 2025 and will be held in Morocco from 2025-29. Oceania will have two qualifying teams. Other slot allocations will be AFC (4), CAF(5), Concacaf (4), CONMEBOL(4), UEFA (5).

2027 FIFA Women’s World Cup 

A decision is expected by the end of the 74th Congress in Bangkok, naming the hosts of the next Women’s World Cup.

The options are:

  • Joint bid by the Royal Belgian Football Association, the German Football Association and the Royal Netherlands Football Association.
  • Single bid by the Brazilian Football Association.

READ MORE: FIFA confirm two hosting bids meet requirements for next Women’s World Cup >>>>

Main photo: The FIFA Council meet in Bangkok. Photo credit: FIFA.

More football stories