Northern Region Football inducts five more Life Members at annual meeting

Five new Life Members have been recognised for their significant contributions to football in the northern region.

Northern Region Football inducted them at its annual general meeting at Māngere United on May 27, 2024.

Brad Flower, Martin Baucutt, Pamela Luhrs, Trevor Bradford and Andrea Nelson, NZOM, have contributed to the sport through clubs, federation and refereeing leadership, having an impact on football from Northland to South Auckland.

They join a long list of NRF life and honorary members who’ve made a difference to football.

READ MORE: NRF’S Life and Honorary Members >>>>

“We were delighted to receive these fantastic nominations representing various aspects of our game, from coaching and refereeing to club and federation administration,” NRF chair Gina Mills said.

“Football doesn’t just happen. It’s thanks to the dedication and passion of the volunteers who play important roles on and off the field, and it’s a real pleasure to acknowledge and celebrate our newest life members.”

Main photo (from left): Pamela Luhrs, Martin Baucutt, Trevor Bradford (Paul Smith accepting on his behalf), Brad Flower, Andrea Nelson, NZOM. Photo credit: Bridget Baker, NRF.

NRF’s newest Life Members

Brad Flower
Nominated by Chas Flower (Kamo Soccer Club)

Brad has been a huge part of Northland’s Football Community for more than forty years.

He joined Kamo’s board in 1987 and has been a member ever since. Flower was the Northland Judicial Committee conveyor and panellist from 2002 to 2007. He played a big part in setting up what’s now Northland FC in 2003 and was a board member of North Force until 2012.

Floer was a trustee of the Northland Development Trust from 2004 and became the Trust’s chair in 2023 to help wind it up — he was on the United Soccer One board in 2007-8.

Martin Baucutt
Nominated by Cheryl Derrick (Papakura City)

Baucutt has contributed to football as a referee, referee assessor and fixtures manager. After hanging up his whistle, he helped coach a new generation of referees for AFF from 2006 until 2020.

In 2019, Baucutt received the Paul Smith Cup, and a 35-year service award. He served as fixtures and competitions manager for the Franklin / Counties Manukau, with Federation 2, and AFF from 1994 till 2017.

Pamela Luhrs
Nominated by Hans Anema (Papatoetoe AFC)

Pamela Luhrs first became involved with Papatoetoe AFC when she joined as a player in 1987, and was elected secretary in November 1993,  a position she still holds today as well as becoming treasurer in 2003.

She was a member of the Women’s Action Group when the federation came into being.

She has managed a number of women’s teams and takes care of a myriad of jobs, including running the canteen, looking after gear, managing the bar, preparing the programme, running the summer 7-aside tournament, and co-ordinating juniors. She is indispensable to the club’s smooth running and was honoured as Papatoetoe Life Member in 2003.

Trevor Bradford
Nominated by Ashley Wilson (NRF referee advisory committee chair)

Bradford became a member of AFF Referees in 1984 and retired from active refereeing in 2019, a total of 35 years of service as an active referee. He became an assessor in March 2003 and still supports NRF Referees with a focus on youth referees.

Bradford was an AFF referee committee member between 2001 and 2007, and again between 2011 and 2012, serving as vice chair in 2006 and 2007. He was a founding trustee of the Victoria Park Sports and Cultural Trust and advocates strongly for the interests of the NRF Referees. He was awarded a Long Service Medal in 2014 for his significant contribution to AFF referees.

Andrea Nelson, NZOM
Nominated by Gina Mills (on behalf of the NRF board)

Andrea Nelson first contributed to football governance with Auckland Football Federation and helped lead the merger with NFF to form Northern Region Football.

In her time as chair, she led NRF through the pandemic, helped design the strategy in place today, and helped ensure NRF took up the FIFA women’s World Cup opportunity and created a legacy for years to come.

Nelson’s experience as a sports administrator, including serving as CEO of the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup in 2022, has benefitted NRF immensely.

She stood down as NRF’s first chair in late 2023, having made a huge contribution to the game. NRF also acknowledges Nelson as the outgoing chair.

More football stories