WATCH: FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup draw to be streamed live

New Zealand will learn their group opponents for the 2024 FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup in a live draw from Colombia in the early hours of Thursday June 6 (NZT).

FIFA+ will stream the draw live and free for fans around the world, as the 24 qualifying nations are drawn into six groups of four teams.

The draw will be made at 3am (NZT), from Bogata.

The presenters will be Andrea Guerrero of RCN and Marina Granziera from the Caracol network, while the host of the draw will be Jaime Yarza, FIFA Director of Tournaments.

Yarza will be assisted by two greats of women’s football, former USA international Lindsay Tarpley and Colombia’s Natalia Gaitán.

Tarpley captained and scored the trophy-winning goal for the USA at the FIFA U-19 Women’s World Championship in 2002, the first women’s youth tournament organised by FIFA, which is now considered the inaugural edition of the FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup.

Gaitán, who is still playing, is an icon of the women’s game in Colombia. As well as representing Colombia at the 2010 edition of the FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup in Germany, she played in two instalments of the FIFA Women’s World Cup and two Women’s Olympic Football Tournaments, serving as team captain on each occasion.

The nations who have qualified

Nations to confirm their qualification for the FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup:

  • New Zealand and Fiji, through reaching the final of the OFC U-16 women’s championship in Fiji.
  • Colombia (hosts).
  • CanadaCosta RicaMexico and United States, who qualified through the CONCACAF U-20 Women’s Championship.
  • AustriaFranceGermanyNetherlands and Spain, who qualified through the UEFA U-19 Women’s Championship.
  • CameroonGhanaMorocco and Nigeria, who qualified through the 2024 African U-20s World Cup qualifiers, in January 2024.
  • AustraliaJapanNorth Korea and South Korea, who qualified through the AFC U-20 Women’s Asian Cup in March 2024.
  • ArgentinaBrazilParaguay and Venezuela, who filled the top four places at the U-20 Women’s South American Championship in May 2024.

The 24 participating teams will be divided into six groups of four.

The top two teams in each group qualify for the round of 16, along with the four best third-placed teams. There will then be quarter-finals, semi-finals, a match for third place and the final.

Past winners

2002: USA
2004: Germany
2006: DPR Korea
2008: USA
2010: Germany
2012: USA
2014: Germany
2016: DPR Korea
2018: Japan
2022: Spain

More football stories