WATCH: Women’s and men’s teams in action at World University Futsal Champs

New Zealand’s women’s team play their first game at the FISU World University Futsal Championships in Shanghai with a match against Portugal on Tuesday.

Their group match kicks off at 10.30pm (NZT) and will be streamed live by tournament organisers.

In a change to the women’s squad, NZF Futsal report that Caelin Patterson (Victoria University) and Hannah Milligan (Auckland University of Technology) have joined the squad in Shanghai, replacing Britney-Lee Nicholson and Mackenzie Falco, both from University of Canterbury.

Meanwhile, the men’s team meet Mongolia in their second group match, starting at 3.45pm (NZT).

The New Zealand men’s team lost their tournament opener on Monday, beaten 9-1 by Ukraine.


Game played on Monday June 10, 2024

New Zealand 1 (Ben Cameron)
Ukraine 9 (scorers not available)


Game to be played on Tuesday June 11, 2024 

New Zealand Men v Mongolia
Songjiang venue, 3,45pm (NZT)

New Zealand Women v Portugal
Shanghai University of Engineering Science venue, 10.30pm (NZT)

Men’s draw

Group A

  • China
  • Saudia Arabia
  • France

Group B

  • Portugal
  • Morocco
  • United Arab Emirates
  • Hong Kong

Group C

  • Ukraine
  • New Zealand
  • Croatia
  • Mongolia

Group D

  • Brazil
  • Czech Republic
  • Oman

Women’s draw

Group A

  • China
  • Brazil
  • Ukraine
  • Germany

Group B

  • Portugal
  • Poland
  • New Zealand

More fixtures

Games to be played on Wednesday June 12, 2024

New Zealand Men v Croatia
Songjiang venue, 3.45pm (NZT)

New Zealand Women v Poland
Shanghai University of Engineering Science venue, 10.30pm (NZT)

Knockout stages (June 14-16)

New Zealand squads


Ella James (University of Auckland)
Ellena Firth (University of Canterbury)
Emily Gillion (Massey University)
Jordana Bremner (University of Auckland)
Jamie Evans (University of Waikato)
Zoe Barrott (Victoria University of Wellington)
Milla Green (Massey University)
Alosi Bloomfield (University of Auckland)
Hannah Reddy (AUT, Auckland)
Dani Ohlsson (Victoria University of Wellington)
Ashley Vincent (AUT, Auckland)
Samantha Whyte (University of Canterbury)
Caelin Patterson (Victoria University of Wellington)
Hannah Milligan (AUT, Auckland)


Charlie Bayly (University of Canterbury)
Sean Beresford Victoria (University of Wellington)
Ben Cameron (University of Canterbury)
Max Ericksen (University of Waikato)
Tyler Ericksen (University of Waikato)
Hamish Grey (Universidad Católica De Murcia)
Ethan Martin (University of Waikato)
Adam Paulsen (Massey University)
Casey Sharplin (University of Waikato)
Patrick Steele (University of Waikato)
Denny Twigg (University of Waikato)
Davis Vhavha (University of Waikato)
Logan Wisnewski (University of Waikato)
Mark Zimmerman (University of Canterbury)

Futsal writer wanted

Friends of Football seek a writer with a passion for futsal who is keen to join our team of volunteers.

Click on the button below for more details:

More football stories