Diamonds collect Capital Football awards to cap amazing weekend for club

posted in: Events, Recognition

Wellington United’s Diamonds have landed more accolades to go with their Kate Sheppard Cup win and last season’s W-League Premiership.

Capital Football have named the Diamonds as the federation’s Team of the Year in the fourth and final tranche of winners in their series of 34 awards to recognise on-field and off-field achievement in their region.

Their coach, Maika Ruyter-Hooley, also won Capital Football’s coach of the year.

United midfielder Emma Main won two awards on the same day.

Having been named Player of the Final for the Kate Sheppard Cup final, she received the Maia Jackman Trophy.

Main photo: Emma Main receives the Player of the Final, presented by former Fern Maia Jackson. Image: Shane Wenzlick / Phototek.

She was then named as Capital Football’s scorer of the Goal of the Year, chosen by public vote.

The awards capped an outstanding weekend for United when the Diamonds took the Kate Sheppard Cup to the capital for the first time since its inception in 1994, beating Hamilton Wanderers 1-0 at Auckland’s North Harbour Stadium.

Click here for our match report from the Kate Sheppard Cup final >>>>

The Capital Football awards

Due to twice having to postpone a live awards function due to COVID restrictions, the federation decided to unveil their winners in a series of social media posts in the week commencing March 20, 2022.

There are 34 award categories as well as six club service awards and the Central and W-league Select XI’s.

The unveiling of winners took place at Capital Football’s Facebook page.

Click here to see the first tranche of award winners >>>>

Click here to see the second tranche of award winners >>>>

Click here to see the third tranche of award winners >>>>

Here are the award recipients from the fourth tranche:

Capital Football Service Award — Peter Becker (Miramar Rangers)

“Peter has been a committee member since his late teens, he has served time on nearly every position within the club ever-present at every game at David Farrington, also driving force of Team Wellington and their achievements of reaching the goal of attending a Club World Cup. Peter has been the Club President for the past 10 years, he also organises the gear and financial aspects of the club. He was also a player for Miramar Rangers for a number of years within the grades, and coached his son’s junior teams. Club loyalty second to none.”

Team of the Year — Wellington United Diamonds

“The Diamonds continue to set the standard, winning their 4th W-League title in a row, and their 5th in 6 years. They also lifted the Kelly Cup and after today’s result, the Kate Sheppard Cup!”

Senior Club Championship — Lower Hutt City

This award is decided via the accumulation of season points.

Football Coach of the Year — Maika Ruyter-Hooley (Wellington United)

“Maika won the W-League with Wellington United for the second year in a row, she also won the Kelly Cup and just today has won the New Zealand Kate Sheppard Cup! Maika also coaches juniors at the club and provides pathways, always bringing through and championing young players. She also was the assistant coach of the Capital Women’s National League team.”

Central League Player of the Year — Ben Mata (Wellington Olympic)

“Captain of the Central League winning side, Ben had an outstanding season leading his team to glory. He is a solid defender with great leadership and played an important role in bringing good culture to the group. He popped up with a few goals too!”

W-League Player of the Year — Kennedy Bryant (Wairarapa United)

“Kennedy has always been one to watch out for. She is a tough, hard-working player who consistently delivers fantastic performances week in week out. She has the ability to change a game through her own determination. It takes a lot to match the effort Kennedy puts into her football.”

Goal of the Year — Emma Main (Wellington United)

Voted by the public, the goal was scored by Wellington United’s Emma Main against Palmerston North Marist in the W-League. You can watch video of the goal at Capital Football’s Facebook page.

Women’s Capital Premier Player of the Year — Rebecca Otte (Upper Hutt City)

“Rebecca has been an inspiration in the 2021 season. Her attitude and character on and off the pitch helped motivate those around her and this filtered right through the UH team! Her leadership qualities on the pitch helped push the team and created a culture within the club that delivered a successful campaign. Rebecca topped this off by adding assists and goals throughout the season, especially in important moments.”

Men’s Capital Premier Player of the Year — Lachie Hill (Tawa AFC)

“Lachie had an excellent season! His stats speak for themselves! 17 matches and 20 goals, with three hat-tricks and several top-draw goals from free-kicks. Lachie was a very influential player for Tawa AFC, and a nightmare for his opposition.”

Central League Select XI

Goalkeeper: Scott Basalaj – Wellington Olympic
Defenders: Justin Gulley – Wellington Olympic, Ben Mata – Wellington Olympic, Taylor Schirjvers – Miramar Rangers, Kurtis Mogg – Lower Hutt City
Midfielders: Ollie Whyte – Miramar Rangers, Hami Paranihi Nuku – Petone, Louis Toomey – Lower Hutt City
Forwards: George Ott – Lower Hutt City, Riley Bidois – Lower Hutt City, Jared Cunniff – Wairarapa United

W-League Select XI

Goalkeeper: Molly Simons – Wellington United
Defenders: Holly Gilchrist – Wellington United, Ellen Fibbes – Petone, Rosie Wild – Wellington United
Midfielders: Kennedy Bryant – Wairarapa United, Tui Dugan – Wairarapa United, Eve Barry – Waterside Karori, Charlotte Lancaster – Palmerston North Marist
Forwards: Kaley Ward – Waterside Karori, Jemma Roberston – Wellington United, TJ Lyne-Lewis – Wairarapa United

More football stories