Sunday league’s Sperm Whales to face Green Machine in the Chatham Cup

posted in: Chatham Cup, News

Auckland Sunday league side Sperm Whales FC have landed a home tie against Ngaruawahia United in the first round of the Chatham Cup.

It’s their reward for causing an upset in the preliminary round on Anzac Day, turfing out Northland Community Division 1 side Whangarei FC after a penalty shoot-out that ended 8-7 in favour of the Spunkies, as they are known.

What made their Chatham Cup win all the more amazing was that the day before, they also needed extra time to beat Football Club Khukuri in the semi-final of the ASFA League Cup.

The Sunday leaguers will host Lotto NRFL second division club Ngaruawahia United, an ambitious side promoted this year after winning last season’s WaiBOP Premiership.

The Ngaruawahia side reached the fourth round of the Chatham Cup last year.

Click here to read our round-up of the preliminary round games >>>>

Ties will be played over the weekend of May 14-15, 2022.

Northern region

Ngongotaha v Tauranga Old Blues
Northern United v Taupo
Waikato Unicol v Tauranga City
Cambridge v Onehunga-Mangere United
Central United v Waitemata
Northern Rovers v Mangere United
Beachlands Maraetai v Claudelands Rovers
West Hamilton United v Waiuku
Franklin United v Oratia United
West Coast Rangers v Papakura City
Mt Albert Ponsonby v Otumoetai
Papamoa v Ellerslie
Bucklands Beach v Kerikeri
Northland v Manurewa
Sperm Whales FC v Ngaruawahia United
Te Awamutu v Metro
West Auckland v Onerahi
East Coast Bays v Te Atatu
Hibiscus Coast v Albany United


Northern: Auckland City, Auckland United, Bay Olympic, Birkenhead United, Eastern Suburbs, Fencibles United, Hamilton Wanderers, Manukau United, Melville United, North Shore United, Takapuna, Waiheke United, Western Springs.

Central / Capital Region

Wanganui Athletic v Havelock North Wanderers
Palmerston North Marist v Massey University
Seatoun v Wellington Olympic
Kapiti Coast United  v Upper Hutt City
Brooklyn Northern United v Wainuiomata
Lower Hutt City v Stokes Valley
Victoria University v Tawa
Naenae SC v Island Bay United
Waikanae v Wellington Marist
Wellington United v Stop Out


Capital: Napier City Rovers, North Wellington, Petone, Miramar Rangers, Waterside Karori, Western Suburbs

Mainland Region

FC Nelson v Tahuna
Nelson Suburbs v Richmond Athletic
Ferrymead Bays v FC Twenty11
Coastal Spirit v Waimakariri United
Halswell United v Parklands United
Universities v Christchurch United
Cashmere Technical v Nomads United
Burwood v Selwyn United


Mainland: None

Southern Region

Queens Park v Grants Braes
Wanaka v Otago University
Northern v Old Boys
Gore Wanderers v Roslyn-Wakari


Southern: Dunedin City Royals, Green Island, Mosgiel, Queenstown AFC

More football stories