What New Zealand needs to do to qualify for next year’s U-20 Men’s World Cup

posted in: Events, News

New Zealand’s pathway to next year’s FIFA U-20 Men’s World Cup has been laid out with the draw for a qualifying tournament involving all 11 Oceania nations.

The two finalists at the OFC U-19 Championship next month will qualify for next year’s U-20 World Cup tournament in Indonesia.

In the group games, New Zealand will face Solomon Islands, American Samoa and Cook Islands.

Fiji captain and OFC Ambassador Roy Krishna made the draw for the U-19 Championship, with OFC Competitions Director Chris Kemp.

The U-19 Championship will be held in Tahiti next month. Fixture dates/times have yet to be confirmed.

Next year’s U-20 World Cup will be staged between May 20 and June 11, and will involve 24 participating nations.

The draw

Group A: New Zealand, Solomon Islands, American Samo, Cook Islands

Group B: Tahiti, Fiji, Papua New Guinea, Tonga

Group C: New Caledonia, Vanuatu, Samoa (this group will have a bye for each team)

About the OFC U-19 Championship

New Zealand have won the championship at seven of the 22 previous tournaments.

New Zealand are the current title holders, having won in 2018, the last time the championship was held.

More football stories