Dates revealed for New Zealand’s games at OFC U-19 Championships

posted in: Events, News

The twice-rescheduled OFC U-19 Championships have finally got dates and venues, with New Zealand’s group games planned to take place at Tahiti’s Stade Fautaua.

The 5,000-seater stadium will host New Zealand’s games against the Solomon Islands, American Samo and Cook Islands.

The tournament will start on September 7 (local time) after being held over from June, and then again postponed in August.

The tournament provides New Zealand’s pathway to next year’s FIFA U-20 Men’s World Cup, as the two finalists at the OFC Championships will qualify for the tournament in Indonesia.

New Zealand’s fixtures

Thursday September 8 (1pm NZT): New Zealand v Cook Islands

Sunday September 11 (1pm NZT): New Zealand v America Samoa

Wednesday September 14 (1pm NZT): New Zealand v Solomon Islands

The groups

Group A: New Zealand, Solomon Islands, American Samo, Cook Islands

Group B: Tahiti, Fiji, Papua New Guinea, Tonga

Group C: New Caledonia, Vanuatu, Samoa (this group will have a bye for each team)

About the OFC U-19 Championship

New Zealand have won the championship at seven of the 22 previous tournaments.

New Zealand are the current title holders, having won in 2018, the last time the championship was held.

Main photo: New Zealand celebrate winning the championship in 2018. Photo: Phototek.

More football stories