Hardworking Seamus Marten named Melville United’s Club Person of the Year

posted in: News, Recognition

Seamus Marten has been named Melville United’s Club Person of the Year at the Waikato club’s end-of-season prizegiving.

Marten, who made his first-team debut for Melville as a goalkeeper in 2005, was recognised for a heavy workload that included roles as first-team manager in 2022, serving on the club’s management committee and looking after media-related work, including match programme.

READ MORE: Check out the Between Two Beers podcast by Seamus Marten and Steve Holloway >>>>

Sam Wilkinson, who steps down as Melville’s first team coach this year, won the club’s Coach of the Year award for a fifth time.

The Club Personality award was shared between new first-team assistant to the manager, Danny Milner, and new club secretary Pete Lawrence.

A joint “Service to Melville” award was bestowed on Wayne Bates and Jamie Strange for their intense work in championing facility development plans at Gower Park.

And a new award – Melville Supporter of the Year – was introduced with the inaugural winner being 14-year-old Lily Allen, an academy player who has also been a regular feature on the sideline at first-team matches.

The club has held back its awards for its men’s first team as they are playing in the Men’s National League, and they will be revealed at a later date.

Michaela Clark was named Women’s first team Player of the Year in her first season at the club after joining from Hamilton Wanderers.

Melville’s Mighty As celebrate winning the Waikato Men’s Cup. The team received medals (sponsored by club captain Pep Wheatley) to mark their successful season.

2022 Prizewinners

Old Boys:

Player of Year: Merv Williams

Goal of Year: Mike Stewart (Donkey) v Rovers, same game Phil scored two goals, first half

Squad member Bruce Timings


Player: Katie Barker

Players’ Player: Merlene Newport

Most improved: Zoe Gaskell

Squad member: Pippa Jacques

B Division:

MVP Dylan Tubman

Players Player: Anthony Townsend

Squad member: Lachlan Brown

Goal/Save of the year: Anthony Townsend


Player of the Year: Rhys Legate

Players Player: Greg Hobson

Patrick Swayze Ghost Award: Raj Naidu

Mighty As:

Player of Year: Devon Williams

Players’ Player: Ben Wheatley

Squad Member: Brad Beucker

Most Improved Brad Beucker

Men’s Fed:

Player of Year: Jamie Walker

Players Player: Jamie Walker

Women’s Reserves:

Player of Year: Kaitlyn Sheary

Players’ Player: Kaitlyn Sheary

Most Improved: Jordyn Watt

Squad member: Antonia timings

Men’s Reserves:

Player of year: Jacob England

Squad member: Makaha Vieira Gall

Women’s first team:

Player of Year: Michaela Clark

Players’ Player: Ali Galletly

Young Player: Rylee Mardon

Club awards

Women’s Golden Boot: Jacqui McInally (10 goals)

Men’s Golden Boot: Oliver Colloty/ Sean Leadley (14 each)

Service to Melville: Wayne Bates and Jamie Strange

Supporter of the Year: Lily Allen

Special Achievement: Oli Colloty (NZ U-19s in Tahiti)

Coach of the Year: Sam Wilkinson

Personality: Pete Lawrence, Danny Milner

Club Person: Seamus Marten

Melville coach Sam Wilkinson. Photo: Shane Wenzlick / Phototek.

Tell Friends of Football your club news

If you belong to a club in the northern or WaiBOP regions, please let us know what’s happening at your club.

Either send us your media releases or send us a link to your announcement/story on your website.

If we think it’ll interest football fans and our members, we’ll do our best to share your news.

Email us at info@friendsoffootballnz.com – thanks.

Use our logo

Please add our logo to your club’s website and invite your members and supporters to check us out.

More football stories