Ellerslie honour long-time president Mark Weipers with Clubperson of Year award

posted in: News, Recognition

Long-time Ellerslie president Mark Weipers has been honoured by the club at their end-of-season prizegiving.

He was named Clubperson of the Year for 2022 by the club, receiving the Ellerslie Old Boys Cup which has been awarded since its donation in 1953.

Weipers (main photo) has been responsible for leading Ellerslie’s long-term project to upgrade the club’s facilities at Michaels Avenue Reserve.

Here’s a summary of Ellerslie’s awards for 2022:

Men’s first team

Player of the Year (Tony Cook Shield – trophy donated in 1975)
Pat Grey

Sportsman of the Year (Brownson’s All Stars – trophy donated in 1990)
Keegan Hansen

Players’ Player (trophy donated in 1975)
Rowan Corbett

Golden Boot (Brian Compson Memorial Cup – trophy donated in 1988)
Rowan Corbett

Most Improved (Mayor Bell Trophy – trophy donated in 1975)
Jordan Oosterhof

Supporters Player of the Year (Joe Walton Memorial Cup – trophy donated in 2001)
Tom Durkin

Outstanding Young Player (Colt Cup – trophy donated in 2009)
Liam Buyck

The Ponies’ first team enjoying prizegiving. Photo: Ellerslie AFC Facebook page.

Women’s first team

Player of the Year (trophy donated in 1989)
Kim Oosterbeek

Sportswoman of the Year (trophy donated in 1975)
Marie Green

Players’ Player (Bakers Delight Ellerslie – donated in 2001)
Anita Trudgen

Golden Boot (Golden Ball – trophy donated in 1993)
Britney Cunningham-Lee

Most Improved (trophy donated in 2012)
Jemma McCormick

Supporters Player of the Year (PHFC Shield – donated in 2005, replaced in 2020)
Anita Trudgen

Outstanding Young Player (Jack Hatton Memorial – donated in 2012)
Jemma McCormick

Club awards

Manager of the Year (Ritchie Family Cup – donated in 2007)
Dave and Megan Smith

Club Golden Boot (trophy donated in 2012)
Terrious Park

Club Golden Glove (trophy donated in 2022)
Keegan Hansen

Team of the Year (Brewster Shield – trophy donated in 2003)
Wild Potros

Supporter of the Year (Tim Hutchens Shield – trophy donated in 2017)
Hollie Leona and Callum McKenzie

Sportsperson of the Year (Bailey Cup – trophy donated in 1957)
Dylan Riminton

Clubperson of the Year (Ellerslie Old Boys Cup – trophy donated in 1953)
Mark Weipers

Click here to watch a video of Ellerslie’s prizegiving night >>>>

Read the special prizegiving programme

Click on the image below to open the club’s programme for its prizegiving function:

Tell Friends of Football your club news

If you belong to a club in the northern or WaiBOP regions, please let us know what’s happening at your club.

Either send us your media releases or send us a link to your announcement/story on your website.

If we think it’ll interest football fans and our members, we’ll do our best to share your news.

Email us at info@friendsoffootballnz.com – thanks.

Use our logo

Please add our logo to your club’s website and invite your members and supporters to check us out.

More football stories