West Coast Rangers sign double cup-winning ‘keeper from Birkenhead United

posted in: Chatham Cup, News

Promoted West Coast Rangers have bolstered their squad with new signings for their return to the Northern League.

The club has signed long-time Birkenhead United goalkeeper Damian Hirst (27), who has two Chatham Cup winners’ medals.

He’ll replace long-serving goalkeeper Matt Upton who moves into coaching with responsibility for the club’s U-23 side, and assisting women’s coach Andy Dunn. He’ll also help develop the club’s up-and-coming ‘keepers.

Announcing Hirst’s signing, Rangers said:

“Damian is a great leader and a role model for our younger players, and he joins in the footsteps of some of New Zealand’s best custodians to have played for our club.”

Rangers have also signed three former Birkenhead United players. James Mitchell, a former NZ Secondary Schools rep, midfielder Sam McIntosh (18) and Miles Palmer (22) who has also had spells with Napier City Rovers and Northern Rovers.

Also signed is experienced defender Tristan Prattley (32) whose previous clubs include Waitakere United, Eastern Suburbs, Glenfield Rovers, Dunedin Technical, North Shore United and Ellerslie.

Last season, Prattley was with Metro FC.

Bailey Gaughan (19) joins from Auckland United.

Rangers head coach Chad Coombes has also made sure his promotion-winning squad has retained key players from 2022.

Allan Pearce … 14 goals last season.

Top of that list is leading goalscorer Allan Pearce (39), who has committed to another season.

Pearce scored 14 goals last season when helping Rangers win the Lotto NRFL first division.

Pearce won the Rangers Player of the Year award last season.

Rangers have also confirmed the re-signings of three more attacking players — Kofi Dwamena (nine goals last season), Matt Banks (5), and Sean Wilcox (2).

The club has also confirmed the returns of Dev Pokhrel, Harrison Bolton-Roberts, Ben Gallagher, Josh Turner, Matt Wood, Jason Alama and the long-serving trio Josh Armitt, Dan McDowall, Josh Jones, Marcus Nevin, Kieran Deegan and Clarke Foulds.

READ MORE: Striker Allan Pearce takes Player of the Year award for West Coast Rangers >>>>

READ MORE: West Coast Rangers confirm coaching appointments ahead of 2023 season >>>>

Rangers’ 2023 signings

Damian Hirst.
Matt Upton.
Tristan Prattley.
Newcomer James Mitchell.
Allan Pearce … Rangers’ Player of the Year.
Kofi Dwamena … nine goals last season.
Matt Blanks … returns for another season.
Sean Wilcox … has re-signed for 2023.
Dev Pokhrel.
Harrison Bolton-Roberts.
Jason Alama.
Dan McDowall.
Josh Armitt.
Josh Jones.
Josh Turner.
Matt Wood.
Ben Gallagher.
Marcus Nevin.

Tell Friends of Football your club news

Please let us know what’s happening at your club.

Either send us your media releases or send us a link to your announcement/story on your website.

If we think it’ll interest football fans and our members, we’ll do our best to share your news.

Email us at editor@friendsoffootballnz.com – thanks.

Use our logo

Please add our logo to your club’s website and invite your members and supporters to check us out.

More football stories