Phoenix defender Claudia Cicco scores hat-trick off the bench for Australia U-20s

posted in: A-League (Women), News

Wellington Phoenix defender Claudia Cicco has scored a hat-trick for Australia’s U-20 women’s side after coming off the bench in the second half of the Young Matildas’ game against Guam. 

The CommBank Matildas U-20 team beat Guam 13-0 in the 2024 AFC U-20 Women’s Asian Cup Round 1 Qualifier played at Dolen Omurzakov Stadium, Bishkek.

Teenager Cicco was introduced to the game for the second half, with Australia leading 6-0, and she found the net in the 63rd, 70th and 93rd minute of play.

Cicco was one of eight women’s A-League players in the Australian side — others were Emilia Murray, Shay Hollman, Kahli Johnson, Jynaya Dos Santos, Sasha Grove, Daniela Galic and Alana Murphy.

The Young Matildas face hosts Kyrgyz Republic on Saturday with the Group C winner progressing to Round 2 of qualifying in June.

Cicco’s involvement in that game means she will miss the Phoenix fixture against Sydney on Saturday.

READ MORE: Phoenix defender gets called into Australia’s U-20 squad for Asian Cup qualifiers >>>>

READ MORE: Young Matildas prospect signs for Wellington Phoenix ahead of A-League season >>>>

Match replay


Game played on Monday March 7, 2023

Guam 0
Australia 13 (Emilia Murray 5′ 40′, Shay Hollman 17′ 37′, Kahli Johnson 28′, own goal 45′, Claudia Cicco 63′ 70′ 93′, Jynaya Dos Santos 65′, Sasha Grove 74′, Daniela Galic 79′, Alana Murphy 85′)



1. Chloe Lincoln (GK) (18. Wilson 45′), 3. Maya Lobo, 4. Gemma Ferris, 5. Jessika Nash (C), 6. Shay Hollman (8. Murphy 45′), 7. Sienna Saveska (23. Grove 66′), 10. Daniela Galic, 11. Kahli Johnson (16. Cicco 45′), 14. Zara Kruger, 15. Alexia Apostolakis, 22. Emilia Murray (9. Dos Santos 45′)

Substitutes not used: 2. Tegan Bertolissio, 12. Tahlia Franco (GK), 13. Anika Stajcic, 17. Ella O’Grady, 19. Ava Briedis, 20. Tijan McKenna, 21. Milly Boughton.


Referee: Park Sejin (Korea Republic)
Assistant Referees: Yang Sun Young (Korea Republic) & Bao Mengxiao (China PR)
Fourth Official: Sunita Thongthawin (Thailand)