Papakura City retain national women’s futsal title after win in extra time

posted in: Futsal, News

Papakura City retained their national women’s futsal title after Futsal Fern Maxine Cooper scored the winner in extra time against WaiBOP Power.

City won the women’s Ford Futsal Superleague title at Wellington’s Ākau Tangi Sports Centre after having to come back from a 0-2 deficit in their 3-2 semi-final win against Capital Football.

WaiBOP Power also had to fight back from being two goals down to win their semi-final 3-2 against Canterbury United Pride.

Main photo: Papakura City retain the national women’s title.

READ MORE: RESULTS: Day 1 at women’s Ford Futsal Superleague national series in Wellington >>>>

READ MORE: Canterbury United Dragons are crowned national men’s futsal champions >>>>


Games played on Sunday April 2, 2023

Women’s Ford Futsal Superleague


Capital Football 2 (Danielle Ohlsson 3′, Francesca Grange 17′)
Papakura City 3 (Jordana Bremner 21′, Amy Waters 31′, Cat Pretty 32′)

Canterbury United Pride 2 (Serena Patel 9′, Frankie Morrow 22′)
WaiBOP Power 3 (Stevie-Lee Tiller 36′, Courtney Stone 39′, Jamie Evans 39′)


WaiBOP Power 0
Papakura City 1 (Maxine Cooper 48′)
*After extra time

Futsal writer wanted

Friends of Football seeks a writer with a passion for futsal who is keen to join our team of volunteers.

Click on the button below for more details:

Watch Sunday’s action

More football stories