Confirmed: New Zealand to head to Argentina for FIFA U-20 Men’s World Cup

posted in: News

New Zealand have four weeks to prepare for the FIFA U-20 Men’s World Cup which will now take place in Argentina after a late change of venue.

Argentina has been chosen by FIFA to replace Indonesia as the host nation, and the tournament will go ahead from May 20 to June 11.

New Zealand will learn their group opponents when the tournament draw is made in Zurich on Saturday April 22 (NZT).

Main photo: The New Zealand team celebrate their qualification for the U-20 World Cup at September’s OFC U-19 Championship in Tahiti. Photo: Shane Wenzlick / Phototek.

Argentina, who had not qualified for the tournament, will also get a late team entry, replacing Indonesia.

Last month, FIFA stripped Indonesia of its hosting rights “due to the current circumstances” but did not give specific reasons.

Speculation has linked the decision with political opposition within Indonesia to having Israel compete at the tournament, and a lack of progress made by the national body to transform the sport following a stampede at a club game in East Java last October which led to 135 deaths at a stadium.

Announcing Argentina as the new host, FIFA said a delegation had made on-site inspections of proposed tournament venues.

Argentina is the most successful nation in the history of the FIFA U-20 World Cup, having won the tournament six times, most recently in 2007. The country also hosted the competition in 2001.

FIFA President Gianni Infantino said:

“FIFA is delighted to announce that this year’s edition of the FIFA U-20 World Cup will take place in Argentina, as the home of the world champions opens its doors to tomorrow’s superstars of world football.

“I would like to thank the AFA and particularly its President Claudio Tapia, as well as the governmental authorities, for their commitment to hosting this magnificent event at such short notice.

“The U-20 World Cup plays a key role in FIFA’s efforts to promote youth football across the world.

Since 1977, this tournament has featured some of the greatest players of the past decades, including Diego Armando Maradona, Lionel Messi, Paul Pogba, Erling Haaland and many others.

“Having this year’s edition taking place in a country that lives and breathes football will be a tremendous inspiration for the stars of tomorrow.”

READ MORE: Our previous stories about the FIFA U-20 World Cup >>>>


  • Argentina (host nation)
  • Dominican Republic (CONCACAF)
  • Guatemala (CONCACAF)
  • Honduras (CONCACAF)
  • United States (CONCACAF)
  • Fiji (OFC)
  • New Zealand (OFC)
  • England (UEFA)
  • France (UEFA)
  • Italy (UEFA)
  • Israel (UEFA)
  • Slovakia (UEFA)
  • Brazil (CONMEBOL)
  • Colombia (CONMEBOL)
  • Ecuador (CONMEBOL)
  • Uruguay (CONMEBOL)
  • Gambia (CAF)
  • Nigeria (CAF)
  • Senegal (CAF)
  • Tunisia (CAF)
  • Iraq (AFC)
  • Uzbekistan (AFC)
  • Japan (AFC)
  • South Korea (AFC)

More football stories