STREAM: FIFA U-20 Men’s World Cup draw to be broadcast from Zurich

New Zealand will learn their pool opponents for May’s FIFA U-20 Men’s World Cup in the early hours of Saturday (April 22).

FIFA have announced details of the draw for the tournament, which has been hurriedly moved from Indonesia to Argentina and will run from May 20 to June 11.

READ MORE: New Zealand to head to Argentina for FIFA U-20 Men’s World Cup >>>>

For the draw, teams have been placed in four pots and the six groups will be established by taking one nation from each pot.

That means New Zealand will not be drawn against other sides in the same pot — these are England, Korea Republic, Brazil, Ecuador and Colombia.

Nor can New Zealand be drawn in the same group as Fiji, as they come from the same region.


Pot 1 – Argentina, Uruguay, USA, France, Senegal, Italy
Pot 2 – England, Korea Republic, New Zealand, Brazil, Ecuador, Colombia
Pot 3 – Nigeria, Uzbekistan, Japan, Iraq, Honduras, Fiji
Pot 4 – Guatemala, Dominican Republic, The Gambia, Israel, Slovakia, Tunisia

The draw

The draw will be live-streamed from Zurich, Switzerland, at 2am (NZT) on Saturday April 22, 2023.

You can watch it here from 1.45am >>>>

Sam Johnson will present the draw, which will be conducted by FIFA Director of Tournaments Jaime Yarza.

Argentinian Football Association (AFA) President Claudio Tapia will be present, with a couple of FIFA Legends.


One team from each pot will be drawn into each of the six groups.

FIFA’s general principle is to ensure that no group has more than one team from the same confederation drawn into it.

The 24 teams will be drawn into six groups of four, with 16 of them advancing to the knockout phase.



  • Argentina (host nation)
  • Dominican Republic (CONCACAF)
  • Guatemala (CONCACAF)
  • Honduras (CONCACAF)
  • United States (CONCACAF)
  • Fiji (OFC)
  • New Zealand (OFC)
  • England (UEFA)
  • France (UEFA)
  • Italy (UEFA)
  • Israel (UEFA)
  • Slovakia (UEFA)
  • Brazil (CONMEBOL)
  • Colombia (CONMEBOL)
  • Ecuador (CONMEBOL)
  • Uruguay (CONMEBOL)
  • Gambia (CAF)
  • Nigeria (CAF)
  • Senegal (CAF)
  • Tunisia (CAF)
  • Iraq (AFC)
  • Uzbekistan (AFC)
  • Japan (AFC)
  • South Korea (AFC)

More football stories