Legacy Trophy games to showcase best of WaiBOP’s women’s talent

posted in: Events, News, Uncategorized

Some of the best women players in the Waikato and Bay of Plenty will go head-to-head in two games on ANZAC Day, playing for WaiBOP Football’s Legacy Trophy.

The games will be hosted by Tauranga Blue Rovers at Pemberton Park, Tauranga.

Coaches for the teams include Football Ferns Michaela Foster, Grace Wisnewski and Helen Arjomandi, all of whom played their club football in the WaiBOP region.

Main photo: Michaela Foster … played for Hamilton Wanderers in the Waikato before joining Northern Rovers and the Wellington Phoenix.

A game between two U-17 teams at 1pm will be followed by a match between two senior sides representing Waikato and Bay of Plenty.

The youth game will be two 30-minute halves, while the senior game will be a full 90 minutes.

The Legacy Trophy began in 2022 when it was played at Waikato Stadium to mark a year to go to the FIFA Women’s World Cup.

2023 Legacy Trophy

Youth match

Game to be played on Tuesday April 24, 2023

Team AHI U-17 v Team Mana U-17
Pemberton Park, Tauranga, 1pm

Team AHI

Tylor Fullerton
Grace Duncan
Isla Ganley
Maddy Kay
Lilly Brazendale
Morgan McCormick
Chloe Keerkeer
Lane Ririnui
Fatima Hussain Ali
Kiera Sharpe
Olivia Collett
Ilaria Pace
Olivia Bult
Ella Cooney
Kate Hayward
Alice McCarthny


Michaela Foster
Caitlyn Byrne

Team Mana

Kate Stephens
Laura Bennett
Stevie-Lee Tiller
Miah Smith
Jadis Mudaliar
Natalie Young
Hayley Bennett
Nyah Nikau
Bella Bryant
Kiera Wilson
Emily Downs
Lola Anderson
Jude Abdelrazeq
Kate Ruediger
Emma Speedy
Olivia Sutton


Grace Wisnewski
Helen Arjomandi
Megan Lee

Senior match

Game to be played on Tuesday April 24, 2023

Bay of Plenty v Waikato
Pemberton Park, Tauranga, 2.30pm

Bay of Plenty

Nikki Whyte
Niamh Carter (captain)
Amberley Hollis
Danielle Fowler
Brooke Barclay
Holly Scott
Briana Osborne
Camille Moore
Courtney Mitchell
Eve Mischewski
Meila Storey
Neve Simpson
Megan Lee
Paige McCloskey
Sinead Doherty
Teneille Oglivy


Natalie Broadhead
Kieran Mischewski


Alisha Perry
Iona Love
Grace Cox
Maggie Leaver
Caitlin Byrne
Shion Hwang
Nicola Drake
Olivia McDonald
Ali Galletty
Holly Quin
Zaineh Abdelrazen
Helen Collins (captain)
Rhiannon Jones
Olivia Hooper
Ayla Koopu
Emma Sizer


Helen Arjomandi
Michaela Foster
Grace Wisnewski

More football stories