Kate Sheppard Cup first-round draw conjures inter-regional match-ups

posted in: Events, Kate Sheppard Cup, News

The first-round draw of the Kate Sheppard Cup has conjured four games in which sides from Auckland will face teams from the Waikato/Bay of Plenty.

The national competition — with New Zealand’s premier women’s knockout trophy at stake — enables clubs to meet sides not normally on their fixture schedule.

Travelling to Auckland will be Tauranga Blue Rovers (to face Central United) and Otumoetai (who meet Bay Olympic).

Travelling from Auckland will be Onehunga Sports (to Cambridge) and Beachlands Maraetai (to Lakes in Rotorua).

Main photo: Auckland United players celebrate winning the Kate Sheppard Cup last season. United have a bye in round one this year. Photo credit: Andrew Cornaga / www.phototek.nz.

Here’s the first round for games to be played over the weekend of May 13-14.

First round draw

Central United FC v Tauranga Blue Rovers FC

Lakes Football Club v Beachlands Maraetai AFC

Manukau United FC v Onerahi

Birkenhead United AFC v Franklin United FC

Bay Olympic FC v Otumoetai FC

Cambridge FC v Onehunga Sports FC

Fencibles United AFC v Greenhithe FC

Tauranga City AFC v Melville Utd AFC

New Plymouth Rangers AFC v Palmerston North Marist FC

Havelock North Wanderers AFC v Kaitake FC

Massey University – Manawatu Campus v Moturoa AFC

Lower Hutt City AFC v Miramar Rangers AFC

Waterside Karori v North Wellington FC

Petone FC v Brooklyn Northern United

Victoria University v Seatoun AFC

Kapiti Coast Utd v Wellington United

Nelson Suburbs FC v Richmond Football Club

Coastal Spirit v Universities of Canterbury Association Football Club

Nomads United AFC v Cashmere Technical

Northern AFC v Mosgiel AFC

Dunedin City Royals FC v Green Island AFC


The following teams have a bye to Round 2 in the NZ Football Foundation Kate Sheppard Cup:

Auckland United FC (holders); Eastern Suburbs AFC; Ellerslie AFC; Western Springs AFC; Hibiscus Coast AFC; West Coast Rangers FC; Northern Rovers FC; Hamilton Wanderers; Halswell United; Otago University AFC; Roslyn Wakari AFC.

READ MORE: Kick-off times and venues will be available at NZ Football’s website here >>>>

The Kate Sheppard Cup is supported by the NZ Football Foundation.