Western Springs send holders tumbling out of Kate Sheppard Cup

posted in: Kate Sheppard Cup, News

Western Springs are through to the last eight of the Kate Sheppard Cup at the expense of holders Auckland United.

Springs beat United 3-0 to complete the quarter-finalists for this year’s national knockout competition.

Of the last eight clubs, only two have not won the trophy before — Fencibles United and Petone.

Ellerslie, Western Springs, Eastern Suburbs, Coastal Spirit and Wellington United have each won the cup once before, while Dunedin City Royal’s founding club Dunedin Technical won the trophy in 2018.

The last eight

Four teams are from Auckland — Eastern Suburbs, Western Springs, Ellerslie and Fencibles United.

Two teams are from Wellington — Wellington United and Petone.

Two teams are from the South Island — Coastal Spirit (Christchurch) and Dunedin City Royals.

NZ Football will hold the quarter-final draw this week, with games expected to be played over the weekend of July 8-9.

As the competition becomes an open draw only from the semi-finals, the quarter-finals will pitch the two Wellington teams against each other, and will ensure Coastal Spirit will meet the Royals.

The four Auckland teams will go into their own part of the draw for the quarter-finals.


Third round

Game played on Wedesday June 14, 2023

Dunedin City Royals 3 (NIeve Collin 40′, 64′, Hannah Mackay-Wright 78′ pen)
Otago University 1 (Abby Nicolson 14′)

Game played on Friday June 16, 2023

Fencibles United 3 (Kate Berry 16′, Emily Gillion 25′, 38′)
Otumoetai 2 (Grace Duncan 8′, Lilly Muspratt 77′)

Games played on Saturday June 17, 2023

Wellington United 3 (Danielle Ohlsson 5′, Pepi Olliver-Bell 40′, Jemma Robertson 69′ pen)
Seatoun 0

Palmerston North Marist 1 (Mikaela Bouwmeester 50′)
Petone 2 (Libby Boobyer 45+1′, 74′)

Games played on Sunday June 18, 2023

Hamilton Wanderers 1 (Maddison Ollington 2′)
Eastern Suburbs 3 (Nicole Mettam 3′, Nicole Cooper 11′, Deven Jackson 49′)

Manukau United 0
Ellerslie 6 (Kathryn Gow 2′, Leigh Aitken 23′ pen, Kimberley Oosterbeek 65′, Britney Cunningham-Lee 66′, Anita Trudgen 79′, Hannah Barclay 89′)

Nelson Suburbs 0
Coastal Spirit 6 (Frankie Morrow 32′, 90′, Lauren Dabner 41′, Jayda Stewart 59′, 80′, Darsha Keogan 85′)

READ MORE: Nelson Sububrs v Coastal Spirit match programme >>>>

Western Springs 3 (Liz Savage 20′, own goal 45+3′, Lily Jervis 54′)
Auckland United 0

What it’s all about! Auckland United players collect their trophy after winning the 2023 Kate Sheppard Cup with a 1-0 win against Northern Rovers in the final at North Harbour Stadium, Albany. Photo credit: Andrew Cornaga / Phototek.

Past winners

1994 Nomads United (Christchurch)
1995 Waikato Unicol (Hamilton)
1996 Lynn-Avon United (Auckland)
1997 Three Kings United (Auckland)
1998 Three Kings United (Auckland)
1999 Three Kings United (Auckland)
2000 Lynn-Avon United (Auckland)
2001 Ellerslie (Auckland)
2002 Lynn-Avon United (Auckland)
2003 Lynn-Avon United (Auckland)
2004 Lynn-Avon United (Auckland)
2005 Lynn-Avon United (Auckland)
2006 Lynn-Avon United (Auckland)
2007 Western Springs (Auckland)

2008 Lynn-Avon United (Auckland)
2009 Lynn-Avon United (Auckland)
2010 Claudelands Rovers (Hamilton)
2011 Glenfield Rovers (Auckland)
2012 Three Kings United (Auckland)
2013 Coastal Spirit (Christchurch)
2014 Glenfield Rovers (Auckland)
2015 Glenfield Rovers (Auckland)
2016 Forrest Hill Milford United (Auckland)
2017 Glenfield Rovers (Auckland)
2018 Dunedin Technical (Dunedin)
2019 Eastern Suburbs (Auckland)
2021 Wellington United (Wellington)
2022 Auckland United (Auckland)

The Kate Sheppard Cup is supported by the NZ Football Foundation.

More stories