Past winners go head-to-head in Thursday’s Kate Sheppard Cup tie

posted in: Kate Sheppard Cup, News

The first semi-finalists in this year’s Kate Sheppard Cup will be found on Thursday night when past winners Ellerslie and Eastern Suburbs meet at Ngahue Reserve.

The clubs have opted to play their quarter-final tie under lights at OFC’s Home of Football in St Johns, with a 6.30pm kick-off.

Ellerslie have surrendered their home advantage as their Michaels Ave ground and facilities are now the training base camp for the Argentine national team ahead of the FIFA Women’s World Cup.

Main photo: Ellerslie players celebrate scoring against Eastern Suburbs during the Premier Women’s League match at Michaels Ave in April. Photo: Jackie Tran Van / Phototek.

Olivia Page of Eastern Suburbs avoids a challenge from Ellerslie’s Mia Collins. Photo: Jackie Tran Van / Phototek.

Much is at stake for Ellerslie and Eastern Suburbs as they go into Thursday’s semi-final.

Ellerslie last won the premier women’s national knockout trophy in 2001 and last made the semi-finals stage in 2003, when they went on to lose the final to Lynn-Avon United.

Eastern Suburbs, who won last year’s Women’s National League, have their name on the Kate Sheppard Cup once, for their victory in 2019.

They have reached the semi-finals every year since but like Ellerslie, are still chasing their second trophy success.

The teams go into their quarter-final only 11 days after a thrilling encounter in the Lotto NRFL Women’s Premier League when Suburbs won 3-2 at Madills Farm.

The Lilywhites had led 2-0 at half-time but Ellerslie fought back well in the second half with goals from Britney Cunningham-Lee and substitute Lyric Davison to show they can match it with the national champions.

Ellerslie’s Britney Cunningham-Lee holds off Eastern Suburbs’ Saki Yoshida (18) and Rachel Head (15) in their April league clash. Photo: Jackie Tran Van / Phototek.

In April, the sides battled for a 2-2 draw at Michaels Ave with Suburbs scoring a late equaliser through Football Fern Tayla O’Brien.

Match programme

You can read Ellerslie’s matchday magazine here:


Game to be played on Thursday July 6, 2023

Ellerslie v Eastern Suburbs
Ngahue Reserve, St Johns, 6.30pm

Game to be played on Saturday July 8, 2023

Wellington United v Petone
Rugby League Park, Newtown, 12pm

Games to be played on Sunday July 9, 2023

Dunedin City Royals v Coastal Spirit
Dunedin Artificial Turf, Dunedin, 12.30pm

Western Springs v Fencibles United
Seddon Fields, Westmere, 3pm

READ MORE: Western Springs send holders tumbling out of Kate Sheppard Cup >>>>

READ MORE: All the latest results from the Chatham Cup and Kate Sheppard Cup >>>>

All the past winners

1994 Nomads United (Christchurch)
1995 Waikato Unicol (Hamilton)
1996 Lynn-Avon United (Auckland)
1997 Three Kings United (Auckland)
1998 Three Kings United (Auckland)
1999 Three Kings United (Auckland)
2000 Lynn-Avon United (Auckland)
2001 Ellerslie (Auckland)
2002 Lynn-Avon United (Auckland)
2003 Lynn-Avon United (Auckland)
2004 Lynn-Avon United (Auckland)
2005 Lynn-Avon United (Auckland)
2006 Lynn-Avon United (Auckland)
2007 Western Springs (Auckland)

2008 Lynn-Avon United (Auckland)
2009 Lynn-Avon United (Auckland)
2010 Claudelands Rovers (Hamilton)
2011 Glenfield Rovers (Auckland)
2012 Three Kings United (Auckland)
2013 Coastal Spirit (Christchurch)
2014 Glenfield Rovers (Auckland)
2015 Glenfield Rovers (Auckland)
2016 Forrest Hill Milford United (Auckland)
2017 Glenfield Rovers (Auckland)
2018 Dunedin Technical (Dunedin)
2019 Eastern Suburbs (Auckland)
2021 Wellington United (Wellington)
2022 Auckland United (Auckland)

The Kate Sheppard Cup is supported by the NZ Football Foundation.

More stories