African champs await Auckland City if they win opening tie at FIFA Club World Cup

New Zealand champions Auckland City will face Egyptian club Al Ahly if they get into the second round of this year’s FIFA Club World Cup.

Auckland City play hosts Al-Ittihad, of Saudi Arabia, in the opening game at the seven-club tournament on December 13 (NZT).

READ MORE: Liverpool’s Mo Salah could face Auckland City if transfer deal goes through >>>>


Game to be played on Wednesday December 13 (NZT)

Al-Ittihad v Auckland City
King Abdulah Sports City Stadium, 6am (NZT)

The winner of that game will play Al Ahly, who are the current African champions.

Al Ahly knocked out Auckland City in the opening game of the last FIFA Club World Cup, winning 3-0 in the opening game of February’s tournament in Morocco.

READ MORE: Auckland City’s cup dream ends with 3-0 first round defeat to Egyptians >>>>

The draw for the next FIFA Club World Cup was made in Jeddah, Saudi Arabia.

Tournament draw

Teams qualified for the FIFA Club World Cup are:

  • Auckland City, New Zealand (Oceania champions)
  • Al-Ittihad, Saudi Arabia (hosts)
  • Urawa Red Diamonds, Japan (Asia champions)
  • Club Leon, Mexico (North & Central America/Caribbean champions)
  • Al Ahly, Egypt (African champions)
  • Manchester City (European champions)

The seventh and last qualifier will be decided on November 4, when the final of the 2023 Copa Libertadores is held, deciding which club will represent South America.

Match schedule

Previous FIFA Club World Cup winners

2000: Corinthians
2005: Sao Paulo
2006: Internacional
2007: AC Milan
2008: Manchester United
2009: Barcelona
2010: Inter Milan
2011: Barcelona
2012: Corinthians
2013: Bayern Munich

2014: Real Madrid
2015: Barcelona
2016: Real Madrid
2017: Real Madrid
2018: Real Madrid
2019: Liverpool
2020: Bayern Munich
2021: Chelsea
2022: Real Madrid

More football stories