Nominees announced for Capital Football’s end-of-season awards night

posted in: Events, News, Recognition

Short-listed finalists in 20 award categories have been announced by Capital Football, who will host their 2023 awards in late October.

The federation will host their annual awards function at the Petone Working Men’s Club on Friday October 27.

The function is open to all in the football community who want to help recognise outstanding achievements in the region.

The cost of entry is $60pp or $550 for a table of 10, and dress code is smart casual.

Starting at 6pm, the function will include announcements for more than 30 individual, team and club awards.

How to book your tickets

List of award nominees

These are nominees announced so far — more will be announced by Capital Football ahead of the awards function.

Men’s Central League Player of the Year
Jack-Henry Sinclair (Wellington Olympic), Matt Brazier (Petone), Ben Mata (Wellington Olympic)

Women’s Central League Player of the Year
Emma Kruszona (Waterside Karori), Rebecca Otte (Petone), Molly Simons (Wellington United)

Men’s Capital Premier Player of the Year
Oliver Davies (Wellington Olympic), Tsar Mitchener (Island Bay United), Dylan Wood (Wellington Olympic)

Women’s Capital Premier Player of the Year
Ashleigh McCutcheon (Wellington United), Stacey Otte (Petone), Vanessa Addy (Horowhenua Coastal)

Men’s Young Player of the Year
Oliver Davies (Wellington Olympic), Hadley Attewell (Wainuiomata), Isa Prints (Stop Out)

Women’s Young Player of the Year
Jemma Catherwood (Wellington United), Amy Price (Petone), Jazz Shailer (Petone)

Senior Football Coach of the Year
Bri Krekoski (Seatoun), Taylor Hall-Jones (Wellington Olympic), Priyank Patel (Miramar Rangers)

Match Programme of the Year
Petone, Douglas Villa, Tawa

Men’s Futsal Player of the Year
Thomas Petersen, Luc Saker, Sean Beresford

Women’s Futsal Player of the Year
Francesca Grainge, Sarah Alder, Libby Boobyer

Futsal Coach of the Year
Shingo Ina, Grant Baker, Natalie Olson

Masters Player of the Year
Bevan Smith (Wellington Olympic), Joe Burling (Douglas Villa), Darren Cheriton (Western Suburbs)

Local League Horowhenua-Kapiti Player of the Year
Cole Mcintosh (Waikanae), Mike Edridge (Waikanae), Lewis Plumley (Waikanae)

Local League Wellington Player of the Year
Gus McPherson (Wellington United), Adam Ross (Wainuiomata), Joe Gazzard-Steele (Miramar Rangers)

Capital 1- 4 Player of the Year
Lathim Greig (Wellington Marist), Crawford Plenderleith (Wellington United), Nick Drayton (Petone)

Women’s 1- 3 Player of the Year
Zoe Linstrom (Waikanae), Ngaire Dolman (Waikanae), Ella Wilson (Miramar Rangers)

Club Administrator of the Year
Billy Smith (Tawa), Peter Dawson (Manakau United), Charlotte Hassed (Island Bay United)

Club Volunteer of the Year
Jess Henn (Western Suburbs), Ryan Imray (Wainuiomata), Paul Commerford (Stop Out)

Club Social Media Account of the Year
Petone, Wainuiomata, Lower Hutt City

Club Team of the Year
Wellington Marist (Capital 2), Wellington Olympic (Men’s Central League), Wellington United (Women’s Central League)

Other awards

The following awards will also be made:

  • Women’s Central League Select XI
  • Men’s Central League Select XI
  • Personality of the Year
  • Goal of the Year
  • Save of the Year
  • Wally Noon Memorial
  • Club Service Awards
  • Photographer of the Year
  • Men’s Central League Golden Boot
  • Women’s Central League Golden Boot
  • Men’s Central League Referee of the Year
  • Women’s Central League Referee of the Year
  • Futsal Referee of the Year
  • Senior Club Championship

More football stories