New Zealand face Venezuela in Sunday’s opener at FIFA U-17 Men’s World Cup

New Zealand begin their 11th campaign at a FIFA U-17 Men’s World Cup when they meet Venezuela in their opening game at the 2023 tournament in Indonesia.

The young New Zealanders face a big challenge to get into the group stages, having drawn big guns Mexico and Germany in their pool.

But their best chance of a win in the group is against Venezuela, making only their second appearance at an U-17 World Cup.

Main photo credit: FIFA.

The game will be live-streamed free by FIFA+ at 10pm (NZT) on Sunday November 11 (see link below).

U-17 World Cup records

New Zealand

This is New Zealand’s 10th appearance at an U-17 men’s World Cup.

Their first tournament was in 1997 when they reached the group stages in Brazil.

In all their appearances, New Zealand have played 30 games, winning four, drawing six and losing 20.

The New Zealanders have scored 19 goals but conceded 91.

Their best win was a 4-1 success against Uzbekistan in 2011, in Mexico.

Their heaviest defeat was a 13-0 drubbing by Spain in 1997 in Brazil.


This is Venezuala’s second appearance at an U-17 World Cup.

In their previous showing, they reached the group stage in the 2013 tournament held in United Arab Emirates.

How they got to Indonesia

New Zealand win the OFC U-17 Championship in January to qualify for Indonesia. Photo: Kirk Corrie / Phototek.

New Zealand

New Zealand qualified as the winner of the OFC U-17 Men’s Championship.


Venezuela qualified as the fourth-placed team at the South American U-17 Championship.

Past meetings

New Zealand have never played Venezuela before in an U-17 men’s international.


New Zealand

12 Josh Brown Western Suburbs, New Zealand
1 Matt Foord Cashmere Technical, New Zealand
21 Eamonn McCarron Wellington Phoenix, New Zealand

4 Luka Coveny Western United, Australia
13 Noah DuPont West Bromwich Albion, England
16 Jesper Edwards Wellington Phoenix, New Zealand
6 Dylan Gardiner Hamilton Wanderers, New Zealand
15 Athan Thompson Wellington Phoenix, New Zealand

19 Anaru Cassidy Wellington Phoenix, New Zealand
7 Matt D’Hotman Melville United, New Zealand
8 Paris Domfeh Wellington Phoenix, New Zealand
5 Anton Isaako Sydney FC, Australia
3 Marley Leuluai Burnley, England
20 Luke Mitchell Hamilton Wanderers, New Zealand
14 Nick Murphy Christchurch United, New Zealand
2 Mac Prathumphithak Christchurch United, New Zealand

18 Gabriel Sloane-Rodrigues Wellington Phoenix, New Zealand
11 Luke Supyk Wellington Phoenix, New Zealand
9 Stipe Ukich Auckland City, New Zealand
17 Nathan Walker Fencibles United, New Zealand
10 Adam Watson Stoke City, England

Head coach: Martin Bullock
Assistant coach: Aaron Clapham
Goalkeeper coach: Daniel Knight


1 Jorge Sanchez, Deportivo La Guaira, Venezuela
12 Jesus Lara, Ac Mineros De Guavana, Venezuela
13 Salvador Bolivar, Caracas FC, Venezuela

2 Pablo Ibarra, Img Soccer Academy, United States
3 Santiago Silva Gill, Rayo Vallecano, Spain
4 Yiandro Raap, PSV Eindhoven, Netherlands
6 Rai Hidalgo, Academia Puerto Cabello, Venezuela
15 Angel Borgo, Academia Puerto Cabello, Venezuela
20 Luis Balbo, Fc Famalicão, Portugal

7 Leenhan Romero, Universidad Catolica, Chile
8 Giovanny Sequera, Metropolitanos FC, Venezuela
10 David Martinez, Monagas SC, Venezuela
11 Juan Arango, Girona FC, Spain
14 Miguel Vegas, Caracas FC, Venezuela
16 Frangel Huice, Universidad Central FC, Venezuela
17 Maiken Gonzalez, Deportivo La Guaira, Venezuela
21 Nicola Proffta, Ac Deportivo Cali, Colombia

5 Jose Correa, Nueva Esparta FC, Venezuela
9 Lucciano Reinoso, Caracas FC, Venezuela
18 Alejandro Cichero, Frosinone Calcio FC, Italy
19 Junior Colina, Deportivo Rayo Zuliano, Venezuela

Head coach: Ricardo Valino
Assistant coach: Cristian Palandella
Assistant coach: Oswaldo Vizcarrondo
Assistant coach: Marco Capetillo
Goalkeeper coach: Damian Albil
Goalkeeper coach: Nahuel Oscar Vega


Game to be played on Sunday November 12, 2023

New Zealand v Venezuela
Si Jalak Harupat Stadium, Bandung (10pm, NZT)

Game to be played on Thursday November 16, 2023 (NZT)

New Zealand v Germany
Si Jalak Harupat Stadium, Bandung (1am, NZT)

Game to be played on Saturday November 18, 2023

New Zealand v Mexico
Si Jalak Harupat Stadium, Bandung (10pm NZT)


Group A


Group B


Group C

IR Iran
New Caledonia

Group D


Group E

Burkina Faso
Korea Republic

Group F

New Zealand


The 24 nations have been split into six groups of four. The top two in each group, along with the four best third-placed teams, will reach the knockout phase.

The knockout stage will have a round of 16, quarter-finals, semi-finals, a third-place play-off and final, where the winners will be crowned in Surakarta.


You can download a PDF of the tournament schedule here >>>>


Tickets are on sale for the tournament:

Past winners

1985: Nigeria
1987: Soviet Union
1989: Saudi Arabia
1991: Ghana
1993: Nigeria
1995: Ghana
1997: Brazil
1999: Brazil
2001: France

2003: Brazil
2005: Mexico
2007: Nigeria
2009: Switzerland
2011: Mexico
2013: Nigeria
2015: Nigeria
2017: England
2019: Brazil

More football stories