Greece name experienced squad for upcoming international with All Whites

posted in: All Whites, News

Greece manager Gus Poyet has named a strong squad for the behind-closed-doors international against New Zealand’s All Whites in Athens.

Uruguayan Poyet has called up 10 players with more than 20 international caps each, and has many options in a highly-experienced defence.

He has hinted he could be leaving the Greece job as his contract enters its final months.

Media speculation has linked him with the manager’s job with Republic of Ireland, who are New Zealand’s other opponents in the November window.

READ MORE: Irish manager Stephen Kenny faces axe as he names squad to face All Whites >>>>

READ MORE: Ireland face squad changes ahead of international match against All Whites >>>>

Poyet has seemingly made public overtures for the Irish role after Greece beat Stephen Kenny’s side twice during the UEFA Euro qualifiers.

In an interview with LiveScore, he said: “My contract finishes in March. So, finish the (Euro 2024) play-off games, and it’s over. It doesn’t matter if I qualify or not because there is no extension.

“We used to say when you’re a player, six months left on your contract and you can start looking for a job.

“Now, that is a possibility that they (Ireland) will like me, that they will contact me. That’s a different matter.”

New Zealand Football have confirmed the match against Greece will be played in an empty Georgios Kamaras Stadium on November 18 (6am NZT).

The game will be live-streamed free by FIFA+ and on free-to-air TVNZ channel Duke.



Odysseas Vlachodimos (37 caps), Nottingham Forest, England
Alexandros Paschalakis (5 caps), Olympiacos, Greece
Sokratis Dioudis (2 caps), Zagtebie Lubin, Poland
Giorgos Athanasiadis (0 caps), AEK Athens, Greece

Giorgos Tzavellas (49 caps), Atromitos, Greece
Kostas Tsimikas (31 caps), Liverpool, England
Pantelis Chatzidiakos (29 caps), Cagliari, Italy
Dimitris Giannoulis (25 caps), Norwich City, England
Dinos Mavropanos (22 caps), West Ham United, England
Lazaros Rota (11 caps), AEK Athens, Greece
Panos Retsos (10 caps), Olympiacos, Greece
George Baldock (9 caps), Sheffield United, England
Dinos Koulierakis (5 caps), PAOK, Greece
Dimitris Goutas (3 caps), Cardiff City, Wales
Manolis Saliakas (2 caps), St Pauli, Germany
Giorgos Vagiannidis (0 caps), Panathinaikos, Greece

Tasos Bakasetas (captain) (61 caps), Trabzonspor, Turkey
Petros Mantalos (57 caps), AEK Athens, Greece
Andreas Bouchalakis (1 cap), Hertha Berlin, Germany
Dimitris Kourbelis (1 cap), Trabzonspor, Turkey
Dimitris Pelkas (3 caps), istanbul Basaksehir, Turkey
Manolis Siopis (1 cap), Cardiff City, Wales
Sotiris Alexandropoulos (8 caps), Olympiacos, Greece
Kostas Galanopoulos (6 caps), AEK Athens, Greece
Giannis Papanikolaou (4 caps), Rakow Czestochowa, Poland
Giannis Konstantelias (2 caps), PAOK, Greece

Giorgos Masouras (37 caps), Olympiacos, Greece
Vangelis Pavlidis (34 caps), AZ, Netherlands
Giorgos Giakoumakis (19 caps), Atlanta United, United States
Taxiarchis Fountas (1 cap), Trabzonspor, Turkey
Tasos Chatzigiovanis (13 caps), Ankaragücu, Turkey
Fotis loannidis (7 caps), Panathinaikos, Greece

Manager: Gus Poyet

New Zealand

Max Crocombe (2 caps) Burton Albion FC, England
Alex Paulsen (0 caps) Wellington Phoenix, New Zealand
Michael Woud (5 caps) Ventforet Kofu, Japan

Tyler Bindon (2 caps) Reading FC, England
Michael Boxall (45 caps) Minnesota United, USA
Liberato Cacace (17 caps) Empoli FC, Italy
Tim Payne (33 caps) Wellington Phoenix, New Zealand
Nando Pijnaker (14 caps) Sligo Rovers, Ireland
Tommy Smith (50 caps) MK Dons, England
Finn Surman (0 caps) Wellington Phoenix, New Zealand
Dalton Wilkins (2 caps) Kolding IF, Denmark

Joe Bell (15 caps) Viking FK, Norway
Matthew Garbett (16 caps) NAC Breda, Netherlands
Clayton Lewis (24 caps) Macarthur FC, Australia
Callum McCowatt (14 caps) Silkeborg IF, Denmark
Sarpreet Singh (10 caps) FC Hansa Rostock, Germany
Marko Stamenic (16 caps) FK Crvena zvezda / Red Star Belgrade, Serbia

Joe Champness (8 caps) Adanaspor, Turkey
Alex Greive (11 caps) St Mirren FC, Scotland
Eli Just (18 caps) AC Horsens, Denmark
Max Mata (6 caps) Shrewsbury Town, England
Ben Waine (10 caps) Plymouth Argyle, England
Chris Wood (72 caps) Nottingham Forest, England

Head coach: Darren Bazeley


Game to be played on Saturday November 18, 2023 (NZT)

Greece v New Zealand
Georgios Kamaras Stadium, Athens, Greece, 6am (NZT)

Game to be played on Wednesday November 22, 2023 (NZT)

Ireland v New Zealand
Aviva Stadium, Dublin, 8.45am (NZT)

More football stories