New Zealand to learn opponents for women’s Olympic qualifiers

The draw for the OFC women’s Olympic qualifiers will be drawn on Thursday, determining New Zealand’s opponents for the tournament to be held in February.

Eight nations’ names will go into the draw on November 23 at the OFC Home of Football — Te Kahu o Kiwa, hosted by OFC Competitions Director Chris Kemp and former Football Ferns captain Maia Jackman.

Held in Samoa from February 7-19, the tournament will involve eight nations vying to qualify for the 2024 Summer Olympics in Paris.

The teams entered into the draw are:

  • American Samoa
  • Fiji
  • New Zealand
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Samoa
  • Solomon Islands
  • Tonga
  • Vanuatu

The eight teams will be split into two groups of four.

The top two sides from each pool will advance to the semi-final stage before a final to determine the OFC qualifier for next year’s games.

Thursday’s draw will be live-streamed by OFC and can be watched here:

More football stories