Waikato Rapids excel at National Youth Futsal Championships, reaching five finals

posted in: Futsal, News, Uncategorized

Waikato Rapids completed an outstanding four days at the National Youth Futsal Championships, reaching five of the six finals.

The Rapids took home three national titles, with their U-15 girls, U-15 boys and U-17 boys picking up trophies.

The other three titles were won by Auckland City (U-17 girls), Capital Futsal (U-19 girls) and Central Football (U-19 boys).

The country’s best young futsal players spent four days competing at Wellington’s Àkau Tangi Sports Centre before Sunday’s finals.

Main photo: Girls’ U-15 winners Waikato Rapids. Photo credit: NZ Football / Masanori Udagawa / www.photosport.nz.


Games played on Sunday December 17, 2023

U-15 girls

Capital Futsal 1 (Molly Judd 13′)
Waikato Rapids 1 (Bella Cochrane 40′)
*Rapids won 5-3 on penalties

U-15 boys

Waikato Rapids 5 (Callan Fraser 13′, Tomas Blackhall 17′, Angus Elliott 15′, 26′, Asher Clark 33′)
Auckland City 3 (Adan Bolland 1′, 4′, Cristian Gascu 7′)

U-17 girls

Waikato Rapids 1 (Laura Bennett 10′)
Auckland City 2 (Piper O’Neill 19′, Penny Brill 41′)
*After extra time

U-17 boys

Waikato Rapids 4 (Lucca Lim 4′, Chester Opperman 5′, 40′, Harvey Hendricks 17′)
Capital Futsal 1 (Matteo Lidstone 1′)

U-19 girls

Capital Futsal 1 (Pepi Olliver-Bell 48′)
Waikato Rapids 0
*After extra time

U-19 boys

Central Football 3 (Own goal 1′, Sebastian Barton-Ginger 14′, Luca Barclay 24′)
Capital Futsal 2 (Christopher Stenersen 17′, George Willett 34′)

How to watch the finals

Futsal writer wanted

Friends of Football seeks a writer with a passion for futsal who is keen to join our team of volunteers.

Click on the button below for more details:

More football stories