FIFA confirm host countries for next men’s and women’s U-20 World Cups

New Zealand’s national men’s U-19 side will go to the FIFA Men’s U-20 World Cup in Chile if they reach the final of next year’s OFC Championship in Samoa.

That’s the incentive for players following confirmation the next U-20 World Cup will be staged in Chile in 2025.

The decision was confirmed at December’s meeting of the FIFA Council in Jeddah, Saudi Arabia.

FIFA president Gianni Infantino said: “Since 1962, Chile has organised FIFA events at the highest level, most recently the FIFA U-17 World Cup in 2015. The country’s organisational experience coupled with the passion of the Chilean fans will provide a fantastic setting for the stars of tomorrow.”

The tournament will comprise 24 nations, of which two will represent Oceania.

The Oceania nations will be the teams that reach the final of the OFC Men’s U-19 Championship to be staged in Samoa (July 7-20, 2024).

Main photo: The FIFA Men’s U-20 World Cup trophy is shown to the crowd by the victorious Argentina team after the 2023 tournament final.

Poland to host FIFA Women’s U-20 World Cup

Meanwhile, Poland has been chosen as the host of the FIFA Women’s U-20 World Cup 2026.

Infantino said: “Poland is a country with a magnificent football tradition and hosted a memorable edition of the FIFA U-20 World Cup in 2019, in which emerging stars like Erling Haaland made a great impression.

“Hosting the FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup 2026 will be a new milestone in Poland’s football history and one that will boost women’s football in the country and across the world.”

The U-20 Women’s World Cup will also have 24 participating teams, with two from Oceania.

The two from Oceania will be the finalists at the preceding OFC U-19 Women’s Championship.

More football stories

[adrotate banner=”155″]
[adrotate banner=”89″]
[adrotate banner=”86″]