Global football awards to be live streamed free for New Zealand viewers

New Zealand football fans can watch a free stream of The Best FIFA Football Awards live from London on Tuesday January 16, 2024.

The awards will decide who were the world’s best players, coaches and goalkeepers last year.

Coverage of the ceremony will start at 8.29am (NZT) and the stream will be provided by the FIFA+ platform in New Zealand.

New Zealand link with the awards

New Zealand football legends Ivan Vicelich and Kirsty Yallop were among the panel of experts consulted to produce the shortlist of nominees for the 2023 The Best FIFA Awards.

Vicelich is New Zealand and Oceania’s most-capped men’s international of all time, with 88 appearances while Yallop made 104 full international appearances for the Football Ferns.

READ MORE: New Zealand legends help choose nominees for 2023 FIFA Best Awards >>>>

Here are all the finalists …

The Best FIFA Men’s Player finalists

Erling Haaland (Norway / Manchester City FC)
Kylian Mbappé (France / Paris Saint-Germain)
Lionel Messi (Argentina / Paris Saint-Germain / Club Internacional de Fútbol Miami)

The Best FIFA Women’s Player finalists

Aitana Bonmatí (Spain / FC Barcelona)
Linda Caicedo (Colombia / Deportivo Cali Femenino / Real Madrid CF)
Jennifer Hermoso (Spain / CF Pachuca Femenil

FIFA Puskás Award finalists

Julio Enciso (Paraguay / Brighton & Hove Albion FC)
Guilherme Madruga (Brazil / Botafogo Futebol Clube)
Nuno Santos (Portugal / Sporting CP)

The Best FIFA Men’s Coach finalists

Pep Guardiola (Spain / Manchester City FC)
Simone Inzaghi (Italy / FC Internazionale Milano)
Luciano Spalletti (Italy / SSC Napoli)

The Best FIFA Women’s Coach finalists

Jonatan Giráldez (Spain / FC Barcelona)
Emma Hayes (England / Chelsea FC)
Sarina Wiegman (Netherlands / England)

The Best FIFA Men’s Goalkeeper finalists

Yassine Bounou (Morocco / Sevilla FC / Al Hilal)
Thibaut Courtois (Belgium / Real Madrid CF)
Ederson (Brazil / Manchester City FC)

The Best FIFA Women’s Goalkeeper finalists

Mackenzie Arnold (Australia / West Ham United FC)
Catalina Coll (Spain / FC Barcelona)
Mary Earps (England / Manchester United)

About the awards

The Best FIFA Football Awards reward the standout candidates in each field, regardless of championship or nationality, for their respective achievements during the designated qualifying period.

The qualifying period for the women’s awards — The Best Women’s Player, The Best Women’s Coach and The Best Women’s Goalkeeper — was from August 1, 2022 to August 20, 2023, the date of the FIFA Women’s World Cup Final.

For the men’s awards — The Best Men’s Player, The Best Men’s Coach and The Best Men’s Goalkeeper — the qualifying period was between December 19, 2022 and August 20, 2023.

The FIFA Puskás Award will be presented to the scorer of the best goal in the relevant qualifying period — between December 19, 2022 and 20 August 20, 2023.

The three finalists in most categories were selected by an international jury comprising of four groups: national team coaches, national team captains, football journalists, and fans who voted on FIFA’s official website, with more than a million fan votes recorded worldwide.

Selections from the four voting groups — coaches, captains, journalists, and fans — each count for 25 per cent of the total vote, irrespective of the number of voters from each group.

The FIFA Puskás Award finalists were determined by a combination of fan votes and expert panellists.

More football stories