Starting line-ups: Wilkinson and Esson to start for Ferns against Vanuatu

Striker Hannah Wilkinson and goalkeeper Vic Esson have been named in New Zealand’s starting line-up to face Vanuatu in the final group game at the OFC Women’s Olympic Qualifier tournament in Samoa.

The pair will make their first appearance at the eight-nation tournament to decide who will represent Oceania at the Paris Olympics in July.

Main photo: Forward Hannah Wilkinson … ready to earn her 120th cap when she faces Vanuatu.

Defender Claudia Bunge will wear the captain’s armband with Rebekah Stott moved to the subs’ bench.

Barring a major upset, New Zealand will face Fiji in the semi-finals of the OFC Women’s Olympic Qualifer tournament on Friday.

The Ferns will play Fiji if they draw or win against Vanuatu. The game that starts at 4pm (NZT).

Fiji were beaten 3-1 by the Solomon Islands in their final group game, meaning they will be runners-up in the pool and will face the winners of Group B.

Solomon Islands … finished top of Group A with their 3-1 win against Fiji. Photo credit: OFC Media / Shane Wenzlick / Phototek.

The Football Ferns are in prime position to top Group B, and Tuesday’s pool match between Tonga and Samoa will decide the fourth semi-finalist, likely to meet Solomon Islands on Friday.

Starting line-ups


1 Amelia Ready (GK)
3 Jesta Toka
4 Nelly Kaltack
5 Limas Erikan
6 Jane Alatoa
7 Rita Solomon
8 Fevie Rina Siehi
10 Diana Sine
11 Paulieana Manwo
17 Elma Avj (captain)
18 Elina Aruvuha


21 Rolingzel Worek (GK)
22 Netty Kalsau (GK)
2 Nellie Vuti
9 Angelina Poida
12 Leimata Simon
13 Valerie Viralolokwai
14 Rebina Woka
15 Noeline Erikan
16 Anna Lop
19 Noella Metoriki

Head coach: Jean Robert Yelou

New Zealand

21 Victoria Esson (GK)
3 Claudia Bunge (captain)
4 Mackenzie Barry
8 Daisy Cleverley
11 Ally Green
12 Betsy Hassett
14 Katie Bowen
16 Jacqui Hand
17 Hannah Wilkinson
19 Ava Collins
20 Indiah-Paige Riley


1 Anna Leat (GK)
22 Brianna Edwards (GK)
2 Kate Taylor
5 Michaela Foster
6 Macey Fraser
7 Katie Kitching
9 Gabi Rennie
10 Ruby Nathan
13 Rebekah Stott
15 Grace Neville
18 Grace Jale

Head coach: Jitka Klimková


Referee: Kavitesh Behari (Fiji)
Assistant referees: Avinesh Narayan (Fiji), Vaihina Teura  (Tahiti)
Fourth official: Torika Delai (Fiji)
Fifth official: Jeffery Solodia (Solomon Islands)
Referee assessor: Tevita Vea (Tonga)
Match commissioner: Amitesh Pal (Fiji)


Games to be played on Tuesday February 13, 2024

Group B

Vanuatu v New Zealand
Field 2, FFS Football Stadium, Apia, 4pm (NZT)

Tonga v Samoa
Field 1, FFS Football Stadium, Apia, 4pm (NZT)


Games played on Tuesday February 13, 2024

American Samoa 0
Papua New Guinea 9 ( Marie Kaipu 8’, 13’, 20’, 46’, 57’, 63’, 66’, Phylis Pala 82’, Cynthia Banita 87’)

Solomon Islands 3 (Ileen Pegi 16’, 45+1’, 90+4′)
Fiji 1 (Narieta Leba 80’)

Final positions in Group A

More football stories