Striker Martin Bueno heads new signings by Central League’s Miramar Rangers

Central League club Miramar Rangers have signed striker Martin Bueno who was last season’s leading goalscorer for Auckland’s Eastern Suburbs.

Bueno (32) found the net 10 times for Suburbs during the 2023 Northern League season before heading to Romania for a brief stint with CSM Alexandra.

The 6′ 4″ forward was a member of Napier City Rovers’ Central League-winning side in 2018 and won the Chatham Cup with them in 2019. He then spent a season with Hamilton Wanderers before joining Eastern Suburbs.

In 2020, he scored six goals in three games for Eastern Suburbs to win the Golden Boot in the OFC Champions League.

Uruguay-born, the much-travelled Bueno has played for clubs in Uruguay, Mexico, United States, Switzerland, Italy and Romania.

Bueno joins five more new season signings by Rangers, who finished 7th in the 2023 Central League.

Main photo: Martin Bueno … proven goalscorer with Eastern Suburbs. Photo: Shane Wenzlick / Phototek.

More arrivals at Rangers

New Zealand age group international defender Josh Rogerson (24) has rejoined Rangers after spells with Western Suburbs and Wellington Olympic.

Midfielder Ollie van Rijssel (23) returns to Miramar after a two-year break. He spent last season with Western Suburbs and a season with Finland club FC Jazz.

Rangers have also signed midfielder Tim Fenton (27) from local rivals North Wellington, and striker Aston Hurd (20) from Hamilton Wanderers.

Hurd was previously with Melville United and Cambridge.

Experienced goalkeeper Matt Oliver (29) moves south from Hamilton Wanderers to play for Rangers head coach Kale Herbert, formerly head coach at the Waikato club.

Kale Herbert … head coach at Miramar Rangers.

READ MORE: Kale Herbert returns to lead Miramar Rangers’ coaching staff for new season >>>>

Re-signed for new season

Miramar Rangers have announced the following players have re-committed to the club for the new Central League season:

Harrison Dudley, Chris Stenersen, John Attard, Ruben Dray, Joe Harris, Harry Chote, Harry Matthews, Ryen Lawrence, Michael Kennedy, Sam Gates, Scott Midgely, Spencer Cameron, Blake Inder, Tiahn Manuel, Sam Mason-Smith, Andy Bevin, Jack De Groot and Seb Barton-Ginger.

More football stories