Phoenix pair and commentator shortlisted for Wellingtonian of the Year award

Two players and a football broadcaster are among more than 40 finalists in the Wellingtonian of the Year awards.

The current form of the Wellington Phoenix men’s team has no doubt helped the chances of captain Alex Rufer and goalkeeper Alex Paulsen who are shortlisted in different categories.

Rufer (27) is one of five nominees for the sport category, while Paulsen (21) is among six Wellingtonians shortlisted in the youth category.

Main photo: Alex Paulsen … a contender for Wellingtonian of the Year.

Broadcaster Jason Pine … shortlisted for award.

Broadcaster and football commentator Jason Pine is also nominated in the sport category.

The awards began in 1989 and the 35th Wellingtonian of the Year will be announced at the awards function at the Embassy Theatre on March 27, 2024.

All finalists will be profiled and acknowledged at The Post-sponsored awards before winners in each category are named, and the overall winner is named.

Category finalists

Sport: Amelia Kerr (cricket), Jason Pine (sports broadcaster), Rachin Ravindra (cricket), Alex Rufer (football), Ardie Savea (rugby).

Youth: Hadi Daoud and Owyn Aitken, Elisa Harley, Alex Paulsen, Te Matahiapo Hynes, Tai Renner.

Arts: Ewen Coleman, Tupe Lualua, Colleen McColl, Dennis Yoo.

Business: Bill Chatwin, Kristy Grant, Frances Shoemack, Ziggy Ziya.

Community Service: Heniaka August, Paul Thomas Gibson, Ian James, Kristeen Johnston, Euon Murrell, Rosemary Wilkinson.

Education: Rod Baxter, Pamela Hanna, Ian Hastie, Cherie Maria Chu-Fuluifaga, Sunita Narayan.

Environment: Sally Bain, Pete Gillespie, Christopher MacLean, Angus Simm and Katie Jackson.

Public Service: Carlotta Dann, Handunnethi “Kolitha” de Silva, Ria Earp, Russel Postlewaight.

Science and Technology: Troy Dougherty, Joanne Hewitt, Ratu Mataira, Emily Parker.

Heritage: Alastair Cattanach, Jane Kelly, John Martin, Liz Mellish, Joanna Newman.

Wellington Phoenix’s Alex Rufer … captain having a successful season with the men’s A-League leaders.Photo: Shane Wenzlick / Phototek.

More football stories