Capital and Waikato take national futsal titles in Superleague finals day

posted in: Futsal, News

New Zealand has new men’s and women’s futsal champions after the final day of competition in the Ford Futsal Superleagues.

The Waikato Rapids are the men’s champions after they beat Canterbury United Dragons (semi-finals) and then Auckland City in the final.

In the women’s Superleague, Capital Futsal won the play-off for first place, beating Papakura City 4-1.

In the women’s completion, final placings were:

  1. Capital Futsal
  2. Papakura City
  3. Canterbury United Pride
  4. WaiBOP Power
  5. Palmerston North Marist
  6. Southern United

Takanini’s Bruce Pulman Arena hosted the three days of play in the Ford Futsal Superleague competitions, with the National Series 2 being held on Saturday and Sunday.

FIFA+ provided three days of streams, live and free from the venue.


Games played on Monday March 25, 2024

Women’s Ford Futsal Superleague

Play-off games

Southern United 2 (Madi Silcock 14′, Abbey Neilson 26′)
Palmerston North Marist 3 (Caitlyn Turner 9′, Isabella Yarwood 33′, Saskia Pelham 35′)

Canterbury United Pride 5 (Margarida Dias 11′, 26′, 37′, Dorothy Yek 18′, Lily Fisher 33′)
WaiBOP Power 1 (Morgan MacCormick 30′)

Capital Futsal 4 (Maxine Cooper 8′, 38′, Sarah Alder 18′, Jemma Catherwood 36′)
Papakura City 1 (Emily Gillion 12′)

Men’s Ford Futsal Superleague


Canterbury United Dragons  2 (Kosei Oikawa 31′, Hemi Innes 37′)
Waikato Rapids 4 (Ethan Martin 4′, 30′, Benjamin Bordin 29′, Davis Vhavha 32′)

Capital Futsal 1 (Jack Parker 2′)
Auckland City 3 (own goal 2′, Adam Paulsen 2′, 27′)


Waikato Rapids 6 (Maxwell Ericksen 2′, 34′, Ethan Martin 3′, 10′, 25′, 32′)
Auckland City 1 (Alex Roberts 8′)

Earlier results

READ MORE: Results from days 1 and 2 at National Series 2 >>>>

More football stories