Phoenix striker Mariana Speckmaier voted fans’ A-League Player of Year

Wellington Phoenix forward Mariana Speckmaier has been named the women’s A-League fans’ Player of the Year.

Speckmaier (26) took out the fan vote in the Liberty A-League season awards, outstripping nearest rivals Michelle Heyman (Canberra United), Sarina Bolden (Newcastle Jets), Cortnee Vine (Sydney FC) and Casey Dumont (Central Coast Mariners).

The Venezuelan international signed for the Phoenix at the start of the season and scored 10 goals in 21 appearances, a record for the club.

As well as claiming the Phoenix Golden Boot, she was also the media’s Player of the Year at the club’s season awards.

READ MORE: Barry and Barbarouses take top honours at Wellington Phoenix season awards >>>>

Speckmaier is out of contract but has indicated she would like to stay at the club.

Brianna Edwards’ award-winning save against the Newcastle Jets.

Phoenix goalkeeper Brianna Edwards was also recognised among the 10 awards announced by the A-Leagues in the lead-up to Saturday’s Liberty A-League grand final, in which Sydney beat Melbourne City 1-0.

She was awarded the save of the season for her full-stretch effort to prevent Newcastle Jets’ Sarina Bolden scoring with a header in round 15.

The eToro Playmaker of the Year, awarded for the best assist of the season, was claimed by Wellington Phoenix rising talent Alyssa Whinham for her exquisite piece of play against Perth Glory in Round 19.

Alyssa Whinham … Playmaker of the Year.

Sophie Harding wins Julie Dolan Medal

One of Australian football’s brightest young talents, Sophie Harding, has taken out the 2023-24 Julie Dolan Medal, awarded to the best player of the 2023-24 Liberty A-League season.

Across the regular season, Western Sydney Wanderers’ Harding notched 12 goals and 4 assists for her side, with her scoring achievement setting a new club record for most goals in a season.

Harding was also rewarded for her standout season with a first CommBank Matildas call-up in February.

Another of Australian football’s young stars, Daniela Galic was awarded the Boost Young Footballer of the Year award, after playing a starring role in helping guide Melbourne City to a Premiers’ Plate and the grand final.

Newcastle Jets captain Cassidy Davis took out the Liberty Goal of the Year for her long-range strike against Western Sydney Wanderers in Round 3.

For helping guide Central Coast Mariners to the semi-finals, head coach Emily Husband was awarded Coach of the Year.

Michelle Heyman … Golden Boot winner.

Michelle Heyman claimed the Golden Boot after scoring 17 goals to become the first player to reach 100 career goals in the competition.

In the Goalkeeper of the Year award, Perth Glory’s Morgan Aquino claimed top honours after a standout year between the sticks that included 129 saves during the regular season, 34 more than her closest rival.

A-Leagues Commissioner, Nick Garcia said: “These award winners represent an incredible group of footballers and role models who have contributed immensely to a memorable season and continue to inspire the next generation of fans, players, coaches and referees in our sport.

“It’s fitting to acknowledge this group in Female Football Week and with fans in our showpiece event of the year. We congratulate them on their hard work, dedication and success, and we look forward to seeing them continue to grow alongside women’s football in the years to come.”

As part of the 2024 grand final, the Julie Dolan Medal, Liberty Goal of the Year and Golden Boot were presented at half time for the first time, in front of fans with Coach of the Year, eToro Playmaker of the Year and Goalkeeper of the Year were presented as part of the pre-match celebrations with all winners in attendance.

The 2024 award winners

Julie Dolan Medal
Sophie Harding – Western Sydney Wanderers

Boost Young Footballer of the Year
Daniela Galic — Melbourne City

Goalkeeper of the Year
Morgan Aquino — Perth Glory

Liberty Goal of the Year
Cassidy Davis — Newcastle Jets

Coach of the Year
Emily Husband — Central Coast Mariners

Golden Boot
Michelle Heyman — Canberra United

Save of the Year
Brianna Edwards — Wellington Phoenix

eToro Playmaker of the Year
Alyssa Whinham — Wellington Phoenix

Fan Player of the Year
Mariana Speckmaier — Wellington Phoenix

Referee of the Year
Casey Reibelt

READ MORE: Grand final ref Casey Reibelt named Referee of the Year for women’s A-League >>>>

More football stories