Goalkeeper Alex Paulsen heads Phoenix nominees for Dolan Warren Awards

Wellington Phoenix goalkeeper Alex Paulsen is a nominee in three categories of Australia’s prestigious Dolan Warren Awards to be voted on by fans.

Paulsen (21) has had a breakout season in the men’s A-League, helping his side reach the semi-finals and winning selection to the New Zealand national squad.

He features in the A-League Fans’ Player of the Year, Young Footballer of the Year and for the Best Save of the Year awards.

Main photo: Alex Paulsen … an outstanding season for the Wellington Phoenix.

Other Phoenix players on the voting shortlists are leading goalscorer Kosta Barbarouses, young defenders Isaac Hughes and Finn Surman, and the experienced central defender Scott Wootton.

Online voting has opened and closes on Wednesday May 15, 2024. Links to the online voting forms are below.

Three Phoenix players collected fan-voted awards in the women’s section of the Dolan Warren Awards.

Striker Mariana Speckmaier won the Fans’ Player of the Year Award, while Alyssa Whinham won the eToro Playmaker of the Year, and goalkeeper Brianna Edwards took out the award for Save of the Year.

READ MORE: Phoenix striker Mariana Speckmaier voted fans’ A-League Player of Year >>>>

Kosta Barbarouses … shortlisted for Player of the Year. Photo credit: Natural Light Photography Company.

Isuzu UTE A-League Fans’ Player of the Year (fan vote)

Every winner of the Isuzu UTE A-League Player of the Month is nominated for the Fan Player of the Year award, while the top 15 finishers in the Opta Index across the season are also nominated.

  • Alex Paulsen (October/November – Wellington Phoenix)
  • Kosta Barbarouses (December – Wellington Phoenix)
  • Kosta Barbarouses (January – Wellington Phoenix)
  • Isaac Hughes (February – Wellington Phoenix)
  • Alex Paulsen (March – Wellington Phoenix)
  • Mikael Doka (April – Central Coast Mariners)

Opta Index scores end of season:

  • Alex Paulsen (Wellington Phoenix)
  • Joe Lolley (Sydney FC)
  • Hiroshi Ibusuki (Adelaide United)
  • Adam Taggart (Perth Glory)
  • Filip Kurto (Macarthur FC)
  • Bruno Fornaroli (Melbourne Victory)
  • Mikael Doka (Central Coast Mariners)
  • Finn Surman (Wellington Phoenix)
  • Jacob Farrell (Central Coast Mariners)
  • Danny Vukovic (Central Coast Mariners)
  • Nicolas Milanovic (Western Sydney Wanderers)
  • Henry Hore (Brisbane Roar)
  • Scott Wootton (Wellington Phoenix)
  • Lachlan Brook (Western Sydney Wanderers)
  • Anthony Caceres (Sydney FC)

Scott Wootton … another Phoenix player on the shortlist for Player of the Year.

Boost Young Footballer of the Year (panel + fan vote)

  • Nestory Irankunda (October – Adelaide United)
  • Alex Paulsen (November – Wellington Phoenix)
  • Jacob Farrell (December – Central Coast Mariners)
  • Mark Natta (January – Newcastle Jets)
  • Nicolas Milanovic (February – Western Sydney Wanderers)
  • Jordan Courtney-Perkins (March – Sydney FC)
  • Max Balard (April – Central Coast Mariners)

Isuzu UTE Goal of the Year (panel + fan vote)

  • Nestory Irankunda (Round 2 – Adelaide United v Melbourne City)
  • Bruno Fornaroli (Round 6 – Central Coast Mariners v Melbourne Victory)
  • Aleksandar Susnjar (Round 27 – Perth Glory v Wellington Phoenix)
  • Terry Antonis (Round 21 – Melbourne City v Western Sydney Wanderers)
  • Nestory Irankunda (Round 24 – Adelaide United v Macarthur FC)
  • Bruno Fornaroli (Round 2 – Melbourne Victory v Newcastle Jets)
  • Terry Antonis (Round 11 – Western United v Melbourne City)
  • Daniel Penha (Round 27 – Macarthur FC v Western United)
  • Marco Tilio (Round 18 – Sydney FC v Melbourne City)

eToro Playmaker of the Year (fan vote)

  • Zinedine Machach (Round 3 – Melbourne Victory v Adelaide United)
  • Aziz Behich (Round 10 – Melbourne City v Brisbane Roar)
  • Nestory Irankunda (Round 11 – Adelaide United v Wellington Phoenix)
  • Aidan Simmons (Round 18 – Adelaide United v Western Sydney Wanderers)
  • Daniel Arzani (Round 22 – Melbourne Victory v Perth Glory)
  • Anthony Caceres (Round 23 – Newcastle Jets v Sydney FC)

Alex Paulsen … nominated in three categories of the awards.

Isuzu UTE A-League Save of the Year (panel + fan vote)

  • Macklin Freke (Round 1 – Macarthur FC v Brisbane Roar)
  • Danny Vukovic (Round 4 – Central Coast Mariners v Brisbane Roar)
  • Filip Kurto (Round 5 – Macarthur FC v Melbourne Victory)
  • Paul Izzo (Round 8 – Melbourne Victory v Sydney FC)
  • Alex Paulsen (Round 11 – Adelaide United v Wellington Phoenix)
  • Alex Paulsen (Round 19 – Wellington Phoenix v Adelaide United)
  • Danny Vukovic (Round 17 – Central Coast Mariners v Western Sydney Wanderers)
  • Filip Kurto (Round 19 – Macarthur FC v Melbourne City)
  • Lawrence Thomas (Round 12 – Melbourne City v Western Sydney Wanderers)
  • Jamie Young (Round 14 – Melbourne City v Adelaide United)

More football stories