Second round draw produces some tasty match-ups in Kate Sheppard Cup

posted in: Kate Sheppard Cup, News

The second-round draw for the 2024 Kate Sheppard Cup has produced a set of intriguing clashes.

Lotto NRFL Women’s Premiership side Hamilton Wanderers will host league rivals Eastern Suburbs, the same side they beat last weekend in a 1-0 upset.

Another all-Premiership pairing will be Fencibles United and West Coast Rangers.

National champions and OFC Champions League title holders Auckland United will host Cambridge, who play three divisions below them on football’s pyramid.

FC Tauranga Moana, playing in the cup for the first time, host current holders Western Springs.

Wellington’s Waterside Karori and Miramar Rangers will meet, while the Wellington Phoenix — playing in their first-ever Kate Sheppard Cup competition — will play Seatoun.

Coastal Spirit and Cashmere Technical will go head-to-head in Canterbury.

Second round draw

Games to be played over the weekend of May 31-June 2, 2024

Northern region

Northern Rovers v Onehunga Mangere United

Franklin United v Waikato Unicol

Tauranga Moana v Western Springs

Uni-Mount Bohemian v Hibiscus Coast

Birkenhead United v Ellerslie

Auckland United v Cambridge

Hamilton Wanderers v Eastern Suburbs

Fencibles United v West Coast Rangers

Central region

Palmerston North Marist v Te Kotahitanga

Waterside Karori v Miramar Rangers

Petone v Upper Hutt City

Seatoun v Wellington Phoenix Reserves

Southern region

Nelson Suburbs vs NW United

Coastal Spirit v Cashmere Technical

Roslyn Wakari v Dunedin City Royals

Otago University v Queens Park

Past rounds

RESULTS: First round of 2024 Chatham Cup >>>>

RESULTS: Preliminary round of 2024 Chatham Cup >>>>

Key dates

Third round
Weekend of June 14-16, 2024

Weekend of July 5-7, 2024

Weekend of August 16-18, 2024

Sunday September 8, 2024

Western Springs … winners of the 2023 Kate Sheppard Cup. Photo: Shane Wenzlick / Phototek.

All the past winners — Kate Sheppard Cup

1994 Nomads United (Christchurch)
1995 Waikato Unicol (Hamilton)
1996 Lynn-Avon United (Auckland)
1997 Three Kings United (Auckland)
1998 Three Kings United (Auckland)
1999 Three Kings United (Auckland)
2000 Lynn-Avon United (Auckland)
2001 Ellerslie (Auckland)
2002 Lynn-Avon United (Auckland)
2003 Lynn-Avon United (Auckland)
2004 Lynn-Avon United (Auckland)
2005 Lynn-Avon United (Auckland)
2006 Lynn-Avon United (Auckland)
2007 Western Springs (Auckland)
2008 Lynn-Avon United (Auckland)

2009 Lynn-Avon United (Auckland)
2010 Claudelands Rovers (Hamilton)
2011 Glenfield Rovers (Auckland)
2012 Three Kings United (Auckland)
2013 Coastal Spirit (Christchurch)
2014 Glenfield Rovers (Auckland)
2015 Glenfield Rovers (Auckland)
2016 Forrest Hill Milford United (Auckland)
2017 Glenfield Rovers (Auckland)
2018 Dunedin Technical (Dunedin)
2019 Eastern Suburbs (Auckland)
2021 Wellington United (Wellington)
2022 Auckland United (Auckland)
2023 Western Springs (Auckland)

More football stories