Peppers used as symbol for upcoming FIFA Men’s Futsal World Cup

The brand and emblem of the FIFA Futsal World Cup Uzbekistan 2024 have been launched as Uzbekistan moves closer to becoming the first Central Asian country to host a FIFA tournament.

New Zealand’s Futsal Whites will go to the FIFA Futsal World Cup for the first time when they attend the tenth edition of the tournament that runs from September 14 to October 6, 2024.

The official look of the event is inspired by the kalampir peppers that flavour cuisine in many traditional Uzbek dishes.

Drawing on the concept of ‘Masters of Speed’, the brand identity reflects the fast-paced, high tempo and dynamic nature of futsal, while the official emblem is shaped like the FIFA Futsal World Cup trophy, with five interpretations of the kalampir peppers forming a ball at the top.

“As the first FIFA tournament to be held in Central Asia, the FIFA Futsal World Cup in Uzbekistan will not only be a landmark moment in futsal, but also one for this incredible region that has so much to offer both teams and fans,” said Jaime Yarza, Director of FIFA Tournaments.

“The striking colours and patterns of the official look capture some of the flavour of what everyone who comes to Uzbekistan will experience during what will be an exciting and exceptional tournament.”

Ravshan Irmatov, Senior Vice President of the Uzbekistan Football Association, said: “The logo of the tournament is made in very bright colours, attractive and modern style. It shows a real oriental and Uzbek flavour. It can also be seen that it reflects the harmony of Uzbekistan’s cultural heritage and historical values.”

The official branding will get a first major public outing on Monday May 27 (NZT) in Samarkand’s resplendent and historic Registan Square when the 24 participating teams will feature in the group-stage draw.

It will be the first draw since the launch in early May 2024 of the FIFA Futsal World Ranking for both men’s and women’s senior national futsal teams.

READ MORE: FIFA releases first-ever global rankings for national futsal teams >>>>

Defending champions Portugal. Photo credit: FIFA.

Record five-time winners Brazil, who are also number one in the inaugural women’s ranking, defending champions Portugal, Spain, IR Iran, and Argentina make up the top five teams heading into the draw.

It will also include four Central Asian countries for the very first time, with the hosts being joined by freshly crowned Asian champions IR Iran, who collected a 13th continental title at the AFC Futsal Asian Cup in April.

This will be the first time that Tajikistan have participated in a senior FIFA tournament, while Afghanistan will make their first appearance at a FIFA event since their only other previous outing at the Olympic Football Tournaments in 1948.

Meanwhile, the 2024 edition will be Kazakhstan’s third straight appearance at the tournament and their fourth campaign in total, after they took to the global stage for the first time back in 2000.

Three host cities, the capital, Tashkent, Andijan in the Fergana Valley and in ancient Silk Road trading centre of Bukhara, will stage games as Uzbekistan becomes the fourth AFC member to host the FIFA Futsal World Cup after Hong Kong (1992), Chinese Taipei (2004) and Thailand (2012).

Uzbekistan’s men’s national team made their FIFA Futsal World Cup debut in 2016 and reached the knockout stage at the 2021 edition, when they were edged out in the last 16 following a 9-8 defeat to IR Iran in a memorable encounter.

The White Wolves have been AFC Futsal Asian Cup runners-up four times and graced the podium in the continental competition’s last five editions, including a third place finish at the 2024 tournament.

New Zealand are crowned OFC Futsal Nations Cup 2023 Champions, in October 2023, earning the Futsal Whites qualification to the FIFA Futsal World Cup. Photo: Shane Wenzlick / Phototek.

The 24 teams who have qualified

Nations to confirm their qualification for the FIFA Futsal World Cup (with FIFA World # rankings shown):

  • New Zealand (#19) who qualified by winning the 2023 OFC Futsal Nations Cup.
  • Uzbekistan (#11) qualify as the host nation.
  • Argentina (#5), Brazil (#1), Paraguay (#13) and Venezuela (#21), who qualified by filling the top four places at the Copa América de Futsal tournament held in Paraguay in February 2024.
  • France (#10), Kazakhstan (#8), Portugal (#2), Spain (#3), Ukraine (#12), Croatia (#16) and Netherlands (#36) who have qualified through the 2024 FIFA Futsal World Cup qualifiers.
  • Angola (#47), Libya (#50) and Morocco (#6) who qualified through the 2024 Futsal Africa Cup of Nations.
  • Costa Rica (#31), Cuba (#78), Guatemala (#40) and Panama (#44) qualified by filling the top places at the 2024 CONCACAF Futsal Championship.
  • Afghanistan (#30), Iran (#4), Tajikistan (#34) and Thailand (#9) qualified through the 2024 AFC Futsal Asian Cup.

READ MORE: FIFA releases first-ever global rankings for national futsal teams >>>>

About the 2024 FIFA Futsal World Cup

The six group winners, six runners-up and the four best third-placed teams will go into a Round of 16 knockout stage.

The winners go forward to quarter-finals, before sudden death semi-finals and the final.

Bukhara … its historic centre is a UNESCO World Heritage Site. One of four host cities for the tournament. Photo: FIFA.

Host cities

The three host cities for the FIFA Futsal World Cup, the first FIFA event to be staged in a Central Asian country, have been decided, with the capital, Tashkent, being joined by the ancient Silk Road trading centre of Bukhara and the city of Andijan in the Fergana Valley.

“We are delighted with the choice of these three incredible cities, which represent the contrasting faces of Uzbekistan, and I am sure that the 24 participating teams will feel at home here and be able to perform at their best,” said FIFA Director of Tournaments, Jaime Yarza.

“This will be the first-ever FIFA tournament to take place in Uzbekistan, and indeed Central Asia, which makes it very special for FIFA and supports our mission of becoming truly global.”


1989: Brazil
1992: Brazil
1996: Brazil
2000: Spain
2004: Spain
2008: Brazil
2012: Brazil
2016: Argentina
2021: Portugal

Golden Ball winners

1989: Victor Hermans (Netherlands)
1992: Jorginho (Brazil)
1996: Manoel Tobias (Brazil)
2000: Manoel Tobias (Brazil)
2004: Falcao (Brazil)
2008: Falcao (Brazil)
2012: Neto (Brazil)
2016: Fernando Wilhelm (Argentina)
2021: Ricardinho (Portugal)

Most participations at a FIFA Futsal World Cup

Not including Uzbekistan 2024

9 – Brazil
9 – Spain
9 – Argentina
8 – IR Iran
7 – Australia
7 – Egypt
7 – Italy
7 – Paraguay
7 – Russia
6 – Portugal
6 – Thailand
6 – USA
5 – Costa Rica
5 – Costa Rica
5 – Cuba
5 – Guatemala
5 – Japan
5 – Ukraine
4 – Czechia
4 – Netherlands
4 – Solomon Islands
3 – Belgium
3 – China PR
3 – Kazakhstan
3 – Morocco
3 – Panama
3 – Uruguay
2 – Colombia
2 – Libya
2 – Serbia
2 – Uzbekistan
2 – Vietnam
1 – Algeria
1 – Angola
1 – Azerbaijan
1 – Canada
1 – Chinese Taipei
1 – Croatia
1 – Denmark
1 – Hong Kong
1 – Hungary
1 – Kuwait
1 – Lithuania
1 – Malaysia
1 – Mexico
1 – Mozambique
1 – Nigeria
1 – Poland
1 – Saudi Arabia
1 – Venezuela
1 – Zimbabwe

More football stories