More accolades for ‘keeper Alex Paulsen as men’s A-League awards announced

Wellington Phoenix goalkeeper Alex Paulsen has carried off three of the men’s A-League’s end-of-season awards.

Alex Paulsen.

Paulsen (21) was named co-winner of the Young Player of the Year, and the recipient of awards for Goalkeeper of the Year and the Fans’ Player of the Year.

The New Zealand U-23 ‘keeper has had a breakout debut season for the Wellington Phoenix, carrying off his club’s own awards for men’s Players’ Player of the Year and sharing the members’ U-23 Player of the Year with Macey Fraser.

READ MORE: The Wellington Phoenix end-of-season awards >>>>

His performances earned him an invitation to join the All Whites squad and to play for the A-League All Stars in their match against English Premier League club Newcastle United.

Meanwhile, Central Coast Mariners star Josh Nisbet took out the 2023/24 Johnny Warren Medal, awarded to the player judged to be the best in the Isuzu UTE A-League Men.

Across the regular season, the midfield maestro notched three goals and nine assists, and created 54 chances. Nisbet’s season was also rewarded with his first Subway Socceroos cap in March against Lebanon.

In the Young Player of the Year category, Wellington Phoenix’s Paulsen and Adelaide United’s Nestory Irankunda could not be split, with the two young guns sharing the Boost Young Footballer of the Year award.

Watch Bruno Fornaroli’s Goal of the Year

Melbourne Victory star forward Bruno Fornaroli took out the Isuzu UTE Goal of the Year with his strike from distance after bamboozling the Central Coast Mariners’ defence in Round 6.

After his first season in charge with the Central Coast Mariners, Mark Jackson has been awarded the Coach of the Year after claiming an historic treble of the A-League Championship, the Premiers’ Plate and the 2024 AFC Cup.

Socceroos and Perth Glory frontman Adam Taggart claimed the Golden Boot after a 20-goal season.

He secured his second Golden Boot and took his career A-League tally to 76 goals.

The eToro Playmaker of the Year, awarded for the best assist of the season, was won by Sydney’s Anthony Cáceres for his outstanding assist against Newcastle Jets in Round 23.

In the Goalkeeper of the Year award, Paulsen came out on top after a breakout season in goals that included 119 saves, conceding just 26 goals in the regular season, the least of any goalkeeper.

Meanwhile, Central Coast Mariners’ Danny Vukovic collected Save of the Year for his jaw-dropping save against Western Sydney Wanderers in Round 17 to deny Nicolas Milanovic from range.

Watch Vukovic’s save

Throughout the season, fans also had the opportunity to vote for their favourite player with Paulsen taking out the Fan Player of the Year award, receiving the most votes for his outstanding season.

Women’s A-League awards

Wellington Phoenix players Mariana Speckaier, Brianna Edwards and Alyssa Whinham featured in the women’s A-League end-of-season awards announced earlier in May.

READ MORE: Phoenix striker Mariana Speckmaier voted fans’ A-League Player of Year >>>>

The 2024 award winners

Johnny Warren Medal
Joshua Nisbet — Central Coast Mariners

Boost Young Footballer of the Year (co-winners)
Nestory Irankunda — Adelaide United
Alex Paulsen — Wellington Phoenix

Goalkeeper of the Year
Alex Paulsen — Wellington Phoenix

Isuzu UTE Goal of the Year
Bruno Fornaroli — Melbourne Victory

Coach of the Year
Mark Jackson — Central Coast Mariners

Golden Boot
Adam Taggart — Perth Glory

Save of the Year
Danny Vukovic — Central Coast Mariners

eToro Playmaker of the Year
Anthony Cáceres — Sydney

Fan Player of the Year
Alex Paulsen — Wellington Phoenix

Referee of the Year
Alex King

READ MORE: Alex King wins top award and will referee men’s A-League grand final >>>>

More football stories