Two games confirmed between Ferns and world champions United States

posted in: Events, Football Ferns, News

NZ Football have confirmed the Football Ferns will play international friendlies against the United States in Auckland and Wellington in January.

The games are scheduled for Wellington’s Sky Stadium on Wednesday January 18 and at Auckland’s Eden Park on Saturday January 21.

Both games will kick off at 4pm.

Tickets for both games will go on sale to Football Whānau members on November 16. Adult tickets are $20, kids $5.

Ford Football Ferns head coach Jitka Klimková said: “This is a great opportunity for our players to experience two of our World Cup venues ahead of our opening game of the tournament on July 20 next year.

“An important part of preparing for our home world cup is playing big teams in big stadiums, and learning to deal with the pressure that comes with playing world-class opposition at home – and there’s no greater test than the reigning world champions.

“This is an opportunity for more of our players to experience these high-profile games, and begin a year where we play at home more than ever before.”

New Zealand Football chief executive officer Andrew Pragnell said: “What better way to kick off massive year of football in Aotearoa New Zealand than by hosting the world champions the USA?

“This is an opportunity for Kiwis to see some of the trailblazers in the game before New Zealand’s biggest-ever sports event kicks off, and a fantastic opportunity to set new crowd records for women’s football in Aotearoa.

“With family-friendly kick off times and affordable tickets there’s no better way to round off the kiwi summer than with the opportunity to watch the world’s best in our backyard.

“We can’t wait to welcome our US Soccer counterparts to football in Aotearoa.”


Game to be played on Wednesday January 18, 2023

New Zealand v United States
Sky Stadium, Wellington, 4pm (NZT)

Game to be played on Saturday January 21, 2023

New Zealand v United States
Eden Park, Auckland, 4pm (NZT)

The United States’ record

The US have won a record four FIFA Women’s World Cups (1991, 1999, 2015, 2019), and are chasing an unprecedented third straight win in 2023.

They will be based in Aotearoa New Zealand for the group stage of the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023, where they will play Vietnam and Play Off Tournament Winner A at Eden Park, and face the Netherlands at Sky Stadium in a rematch of the 2019 final.

More football stories