FIFA U-17 Men’s World Cup in Indonesia provides showcase for young talent

New Zealand’s performance at November’s FIFA U-17s Mens World Cup in Indonesia will give players a chance to showcase their talent against some of the world’s best in their age group.

On past experience, the squad is likely to help propel the careers of future All Whites.

At the last FIFA U-17 World Cup in 2019 in Brazil, the New Zealand team included a youngster called Marko Stamenic from Western Suburbs.

This year, he was playing for Red Star Belgrade in his his second Champions League campaign, and has become a regular starter for the All Whites.

Marko Stamenic … from national U-17 squad to Champions League football in four years.

Other names in the 2019 New Zealand squad were fellow All Whites midfielder Matt Garbett, and Phoenix youngsters Oscar van Hattum, Alex Poulsen and Ben Old.

In 2015, the U-17 World Cup tournament was the first time the wider world got to see Joe Bell, Sapreet Singh, James McGarry, Callum McCowatt and others who have since established professional careers.

In 2013, the New Zealand team included future All Whites Andre De Jong, Alex Rufer and Oli Sail, while Tim Payne, Bill Tuiloma and Kip Colvey were part of the class of 2011 who also made it out of the group stage.

Other big names who emerged at U-17 World Cups

The following players are among the notable participants at previous U-17 tournaments (player/country/tournament host):


  • Carlos Tevez, Argentina, Trinidad & Tobago 2001
  • Pablo Aimar, Argentina, Ecuador 1995
  • Juan Sebastian Veron, Argentina, Italy 1991
  • Javier Mascherano, Argentina, Trinidad & Tobago 2001
  • Allison Becker, Brazil, Nigeria 2009
  • Neymar, Brazil, Nigeria 2009
  • Philippe Coutinho, Brazil, Nigeria 2009
  • Casemiro, Brazil, Nigeria 2009
  • Marcelo, Brazil, Peru 2005
  • Adriano, Brazil, New Zealand 1999
  • Ronaldinho, Brazil, Egypt 1997
  • Julio Cesar, Brazil, Ecuador 1995
  • James Rodriguez, Colombia, Korea Republic 2007


  • Giovani Dos Santos, Mexico, Peru 2005
  • Christian Pulisic, USA, 2015 Chile
  • Landon Donovan, USA, New Zealand 1999
  • UEFA

    • Eden Hazard, Belgium, Korea Republic 2007
    • Mario Götze, Germany, Nigeria 2009
    • Toni Kroos, Germany, Korea Republic 2007
    • Gianluigi Buffon, Italy, Japan 1993
    • Francesco Totti, Italy, Japan 1993
    • Alessandro Del Piero, Italy, Italy 1991
    • Raheem Sterling, England Mexico 2011
    • Phil Foden, England, India 2017
    • Rhian Brewster, England, India 2017
    • David Silva, Spain, Finland 2003
    • Cesc Fabregas, Spain, Finland 2003
    • Andre Iniesta, Spain, Trinidad & Tobago 2001
    • Fernando Torres, Spain, Trinidad & Tobago 2001
  • Iker Casillas, Spain, Egypt 1997
  • Xavi Hernandes, Spain, Egypt 1997
  • CAF

    • Daniel Addo, Ghana, Japan 1993
    • Sam Kuffour, Ghana, 1991 Italy
    • Nwankwo Kanu, Nigeria, Japan 1993
    • Kelechi Iheanacho, Nigeria, UAE 2013


    • Hidetoshi Nakata, Japan, Japan 1993
    • Takefusa Kubo, Japan, India 2017
    • Son Heung-Min, Korea Republic, Nigeria 2017

    New Zealand’s opponents

    New Zealand will face Venezuela, Germany and Mexico in their group at the 24-team tournament to be played from November 10 till December 2, 2023.

    New Zealand’s games in Group F will be staged at the 30,000-capacity Si Jalak Harupat Stadium in Bandung.


    Game to be played on Sunday November 12, 2023

    New Zealand v Venezuela
    Si Jalak Harupat Stadium, Bandung (10pm, NZT)

    READ MORE: New Zealand face Venezuela in Sunday’s opener at FIFA U-17 Men’s World Cup >>>>

    Game to be played on Thursday November 16, 2023 (NZT)

    New Zealand v Germany
    Si Jalak Harupat Stadium, Bandung (1am, NZT)

    Game to be played on Saturday November 18, 2023

    New Zealand v Mexico
    Si Jalak Harupat Stadium, Bandung (10pm NZT)

    Past records

    Venezuela qualified as one of four teams to progress from the 2023 South American U-17 Championship. This will be their second appearance at an U-17 World Cup. They failed to get out of their group at the 2013 tournament.

    Germany were one of five European teams to qualify through the UEFA European Championship.

    The Germans await their 11th appearance at an U-17 World Cup. Germany have never won the tournament but finished runners-up in 1985.

    Mexico reached the Indonesia tournament via the CONCACAF U-17 Championship, and will play at their 15th U-17 World Cup. They were champions in 2005 and 2011.

    New Zealand are going to the U-17 World Cup for the 11th time. Their best performances were in 2009, 2011 and 2015 when they reached the round of 16.


    Group A


    Group B


    Group C

    IR Iran
    New Caledonia

    Group D


    Group E

    Burkina Faso
    Korea Republic

    Group F

    New Zealand


    The 24 nations have been split into six groups of four. The top two in each group, along with the four best third-placed teams, will reach the knockout phase.

    The knockout stage will have a round of 16, quarter-finals, semi-finals, a third-place play-off and final, where the winners will be crowned in Surakarta.


    You can download a PDF of the tournament schedule here >>>>


    Tickets are on sale for the tournament:

    Past winners

    1985: Nigeria
    1987: Soviet Union
    1989: Saudi Arabia
    1991: Ghana
    1993: Nigeria
    1995: Ghana
    1997: Brazil
    1999: Brazil
    2001: France

    2003: Brazil
    2005: Mexico
    2007: Nigeria
    2009: Switzerland
    2011: Mexico
    2013: Nigeria
    2015: Nigeria
    2017: England
    2019: Brazil

    More football stories