Socceroos boss Graham Arnold: ‘We’ll be in their faces for 90 minutes’

posted in: All Whites, News

Australia head coach Graham Arnold has high expectations of his squad to face New Zealand’s All Whites in London.

“There’s always a rivalry between us and New Zealand in every sport,” he told a pre-match media briefing.

“There’s only one attitude that I expect, one mindset, and that’s to go out there and win this game and put in a great performance again, that the nation will be proud of.

“So nothing changes tomorrow night on my side; we’ll be playing our best football.

“We’ll be in their faces for 90 minutes and chasing them and putting pressure on them. And playing our style, it’s the most important thing.”

New Zealand and Australia will play at Brentford’s Gtech Community Stadium in London, contesting the historic Soccer Ashes Trophy for the first time since 1954.

Arnold said he would make some changes to the starting line-up from that which faced England at the weekend, losing 1-0 at Wembley Stadium.

“You’ll see some changes for this game, not wholesale changes again.

“It’s my last chance to have a look at some of the players that I’ve brought in over time. But the thing is, now I’m getting headaches now on selecting a team where probably for three or four years, I didn’t have that.”

READ MORE: PREVIEW: ‘Let’s turn these games into annual fixtures’ — skipper Chris Wood >>>>

About the Soccer Ashes

The trophy was created in 1923, containing ashes of cigars smoked by Australian captain Alex Gibb and New Zealand captain George Campbell following the first meeting between the two nations in Australia in June 1923.

The trophy went missing in 1954 but was rediscovered during the COVID pandemic and returned to Football Australia.

READ MORE: Long-lost ANZAC Soccer Ashes trophy found in family garage clean-out >>>> 

How they rank

Going into the game, New Zealand rate 104th in the FIFA men’s world rankings.

Australia rank 27th.

Past meetings

Of the 64 encounters between the trans-Tasman rivals, Australia have won 40 games and New Zealand have won 13. Eleven games have been drawn.

How to watch

The match will be live-streamed free by FIFA+ with coverage starting at 7.35am (NZT).


New Zealand

Max Crocombe (2 caps) Burton Albion FC, England
Michael Woud (4 caps) Ventforet Kofu, Japan
Nik Tzanev (2 caps) AFC Wimbledon, England
Henry Gray* (0 caps), Ipswich Town, England

Bill Tuiloma (38 caps) Charlotte FC, United States
Dalton Wilkins (3 caps) Kolding, Denmark
Liberato Cacace (16 caps) Empoli FC, Italy
Michael Boxall (44 caps) Minnesota United, United States
Nando Pijnaker (13 caps) Sligo Rovers, Ireland
Niko Kirwan (9 caps) Calcio Padova, Italy
Tommy Smith (50 caps) MK Dons, England
Tyler Bindon (1 caps) Reading FC, England

Callum McCowatt (13 caps) Silkeborg IF, Denmark
Marko Stamenic (15 caps) FK Crvena zvezda / Red Star Belgrade, Serbia
Matthew Garbett (16 caps) NAC Breda, Netherlands
Sarpreet Singh (10 caps) FC Hansa Rostock, Germany

Alex Greive (10 caps) St Mirren FC, Scotland
Ben Waine (9 caps) Plymouth Argyle, England
Chris Wood (71 caps) Nottingham Forest, England
Eli Just (16 caps) AC Horsens, Denmark
Joe Champness (7 caps) Adanaspor, Turkey
Max Mata (5 caps) Shrewsbury Town, England

*Debut senior international call-up


Mat Ryan (captain) (83 caps) AZ Alkmaar, Netherland
Tom Glover* (0 caps) Middlesbrough FC, England
Andrew Redmayne (4 caps) Sydney FC, Australia

Aziz Behich (60 caps) Melbourne City FC, Australia
Jordy Bos (3 caps) K.V.C Westerlo, Belgium
Cameron Burgess (2 caps) Ipswich Town FC, England
Alessandro Circati* (0 caps) Parma Calcio 1913, Italy
Milos Degenek (45 caps) FK Crvena zvezda, Serbia
Lewis Miller (1 cap) Hibernian FC, Scotland
Kye Rowles (12 caps) Heart of Midlothian FC, Scotland
Harry Souttar (18 caps) Leicester City FC, England
Ryan Strain (3 caps) St Mirren FC, Scotland

Keanu Baccus (9 caps) St Mirren FC, Scotland
Jackson Irvine (57 caps) FC St Pauli, Germany
Massimo Luongo (43 caps) Ipswich Town FC, England
Connor Metcalfe (10 caps) FC St. Pauli, Germany

Brandon Borrello (8 caps) Western Sydney Wanderers FC, Australia
Martin Boyle (21 caps) Hibernian FC, Scotland
Mitch Duke (28 caps) FC Machida Zelvia, Japan
Craig Goodwin (165 caps) Al Wehda FC, Saudi Arabia
Awer Mabil (33 caps) Grasshopper Club Zürich, Switzerland
Sam Silvera (1 cap) Middlesbrough FC, England
Mohamed Toure (1 cap), Paris FC, France

*Debut senior international call-up


Game to be played on Wednesday October 18, 2023 (NZT)

New Zealand v Australia
Gtech Community Stadium, London, 7.45am (NZT)

READ MORE: Tickets go on public sale for All Whites match against Socceroos in London >>>>

READ MORE: Brentford’s stadium to host October’s historic Soccer Ashes match >>>>

More football stories